STATE OF CALIFORNIA

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS
INDEX OF FEES, FINES AND PENALTIES

Effective 07/01/2013
(GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 8317)

FEES

Application fees required by the statutes administered by the Commissioner of Business Oversight or rules promulgated under these statutes are due and payable upon filing of the application regardless of the action taken thereon and should be submitted together with the application or other filing to which they refer.  Checks should be made payable to the “Department of Business Oversight” and need not be certified.  (See Section 250.15, Chapter 3, Title 10, California Code of Regulations.)

Besides the fees indexed below, costs of examinations (which vary each year) are available from the Department of Business Oversight’s Office of Management and Budget.  Also, publication and copy fees are set forth in Title 10, California Code of Regulations, Sections 260.608 and 260.617.

	SECTION
	TYPE OF FILING
	FEE

	
	
	

	CORPORATIONS CODE
	
	

	
	Corporate Securities Law
	

	25608
(b)
	Negotiating Permit (25102(c))
	$ 50

	
(c)
	Notices (25102(h) and 25102(f))
	See Note #1 and #2 below

	
(d)
	Designation of Issuer (25100(k))
	$ 50

	
(e)
	Permit (25113)
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max.

	
	Small Company Permit (25113(b)(2))
	$2,500.  Should cost of processing a small company application exceed the filing fee, an additional fee shall be charged up to $1,000 max.

	

	Notification (25112)
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max.

	
(f)
	Coordination (25111)
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max.

	
(h)
	Permit (25121)
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max.

The fee for any change in the rights, preferences, privileges, or restrictions of or on outstanding securities is $200

	
(i)
	Notification (25131)
	$100

	
(j)
	Removal or Modification of Condition
	$ 50

	
(k)
	Guarantee of Security
	$ 50

	
(l)
	Commissioner as Escrow Holder
	$ 50

($2.50 deposit of each new certificate resulting from transfer)

	
(m)
	Transfer of Securities
	$ 20 per transfer

	
(n)
	Amendment to Effective Qualification
	$ 50 plus any additional fee as required

	
(o)
	Broker-Dealer Certificate (25211)
	$300; $75 minimum annual assessment

	
(p)
	Agent and Investment Adviser Representative Change of Employment Notification
	$ 25

	
(q)
	Investment Advisor Certificate (25231)
	$125 per year

	
(s)
	Fairness Hearing Under Section 25142
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value: $2,500 max. + actual hearing costs

	
(u)
	Repurchase Offer (25507(b))
	Amount payable under 25608(e), (f), (h) or (i)

	
(v)
	Exemption (25100(l))
	$250

	
(w)
	Notice of Report Under Section 25105 
	See Note #1 below

	
(x)
	Qualified Purchasers Notice (25102(n))
	$600

	
(y)
	Notice of Transaction (25102(o))
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max.

	
(z)
	Notice (25103(h))
	$600

	25608.1
(a)
	Investment Company Notice (25100.1(b))
	$200 + 1/5 of 1% of value; $2,500 max.

	
(b)
	Notice (25102.1(a))
	$600

	
(c)
	Notice (25102.1(d))
	$300 See Note #2 below

	
(d)
	Investment Advisor Notice (25230.1(b))
	$125

	

	Notice or Report (25230.1(c))
	$ 25

	
	
	

	
	Capital Access Company Law
	

	28110
(a)(1)
	Capital Access Company License
	$2,000 max.

	
(a)(2)
	Application to Acquire Control
	$1,000 max.

	
(a)(3)
	Purchase or Sell Business
	$1,000 max.

	
	
	

	
	Franchise Investment Law
	

	31500
(b)
	Franchise Registration (31111)
	$675

	
(c)
	Franchise Registration Renewal (31121)
	$450

	
(d)
	Franchise Registration Amendment (Post-effective)
	$ 50

	
(e)
	Material Modification
	$ 50


	SECTION


	TYPE OF FILING
	FEE



	
(f)
	Notice of Exemption (31101)
	$450

	
	Consecutive Subsequent Notice
	$150

	
(g)
	Written Notice of Violation
	$675

	
	
	

	FINANCIAL CODE
	
	

	
	Check Sellers, Bill Payers and Proraters Law
	

	12214
(a)
	Check Sellers, Bill Payer and Proraters License*
	$200

	
	Investigation
	$ 50

	
(b)(3)
	Annual Assessment
	$150+

	
	
	

	
	Escrow Law
	

	17207
(a)
	Escrow Agent License
	$625/main office + $425/branch office + Fingerprint Costs

	
(b)
	Duplicate License
	$   2

	
(c)
	Investigation
	$100/office

	
(e)
	Annual Assessment*
	Pro rata not to exceed $2,800 per office of location

	
(f)
	Investigation for Manager Qualifications other than 

  License Application
	$ 50

	
(g)
	Notice or Report Required by Section 17203.1
	$ 25

	
(h)
	Special Assessment
	Not to exceed $1,000 per office or location

	17213
	Transfer of Ownership
	$625 + $100 investigation fee

	
	
	

	
	Finance Lenders Law
	

	22103
	Finance Lenders License
	$200 Application fee (nonrefundable)

	
	  Investigation Fee
	$100 + Fingerprint & Criminal History Costs (nonrefundable)

	22107
(c)
	Annual Assessment*
	$250+ Per Licensed Location

	22349
	Pilot Program Lender Aplication Fee
	$250 to $850 Per Location

	22357
(b)
	Finders Annual Registration Fee
	$100 to $1,000 Per Location

	
	
	

	
	Deferred Deposit Transaction Law
	

	23006
(23100) 
	Deferred Deposit Originator
	$200 + $100 Investigation Fee + Fingerprint Costs

	23016
(23100)
	Annual Assessment*
	Pro rata based on number of locations

	
	
	

	
	Securities Depository Law
	

	30202
(a)
	Security Depository License
	$2,500

	
(c)
	Continuing a License
	$2,500 per annum

	
	
	

	
	Residential Mortgage Lending Act
	

	50121
(b), (c), (50130 (b)(2))
	Residential Mortgage Lender; Servicer or Both
	$900 + $100 Investigation Fee + Fingerprint Costs

	50401
	Annual Assessment*
	$1,000 minimum; $5,000 maximum

	
	
	

	NOTE # 1:  Fee for filing notices is based on the value of the securities sold in the transaction for which the notice is filed (including those portions not in this state), as follows:

Value of securities sold

Filing fee

$ 25,000 or less


$ 25

$ 25,001 to $100,000


   35

$100,001 to $500,000


   50

$500,001 to $1,000,000
 
  150

Over $1,000,000


  300 

NOTE # 2.  Pursuant to Corporations Code Section 25608.3 (See Commissioner’s Release No. 115-C as revised on May 28, 2004), the maximum filing fee associated with subdivision (f) of Corporations Code section 25102 and subdivision (d) of Section 25102.1 shall be $300.



	*
Contact the Consumer Services Office at (866) 275-2677 for Annual Assessment (which varies each year).


FINES AND PENALTIES

Besides the fines and penalties indexed below, there may be remedies available to the Department of Business Oversight for the public's protection pursuant to an enforcement action.

	SECTION
	LAW
	FINE/PENALTY

	

	CORPORATIONS CODE
	
	

	
	Corporate Securities Law 
	

	25252
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $15,000 Administrative Penalty per violation (See Note #3 below)

	25535
	Violation of Law /Rule/Order
	Up to $25,000 Civil Penalty per violation

	25540
(a)
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $1,000,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	
(b)
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both

	
(c)
	For Sarbanes-Oxley issuers
	Up to $25,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both

	25541
(a)


(b)
	Use of Device, Scheme or Artifice to 

  Defraud

For Sarbanes-Oxley issuers
	Up to $10,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both

Up to $25,000,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 5 yrs) or both

	  28880
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $250,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	28900
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation.

	
	Continuing Violation
	$2,500 each day violation continues

	
	
	


	
	Bucket Shop Law
	

	29102
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Corporations:  $1,000 – 10,000

	
	
	Non-corporate entity: $1,000 – 10,000 or state prison or both

	
	Commodity Law
	

	29544
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order 
	Up to $25,000 Civil Penalty per violation

	29550
(a)
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order 
	Up to $250,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	
(b)
	Violation of Section 29536
	Up to $250,000 or state prison (2, 3, or 4 yrs) or both

	
	
	

	
	Franchise Investment Law
	

	31405
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 Civil Penalty per violation

	31406
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Administrative  Penalty per violation

	31410
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $100,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	31411
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $100,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both



	FINANCIAL CODE
	
	

	
	Check Sellers, Bill Payers and Proraters Law
	

	12102
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order 
	Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	12105
(c)
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per violation

	
(d)
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 Civil Penalty per violation

	12107
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per violation

	
	
	

	
	Escrow Law
	

	17213.2
	Open or Change Branch Office Without

  Approval
	Up to $100 for 1st  10 days, $10 every day thereafter

	17408
	Failure to File Reports When Due
	$100 per day for 1st 5 days, $500 every day thereafter

	17700
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	17701
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation

	
	
	

	
	Finance Lenders Law
	

	22153
	Changes Business Location Without

  Notification
	Up to $500 Civil Penalty or Administrative Penalty

	22359
	Finders Violation of Law
	Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty

	22713
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Civil Penalty per violation

	22753
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	22780
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	
	
	

	
	Deferred Deposit Transaction Law
	

	23021
	Changing Business Location Without

  Notification
	Up to $500 Civil Penalty

	23051
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Civil penalty per violation

	23058
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Administrative Penalty per violation

	23065
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	23100
(b)
	Failure to Submit License Application

  and Fee
	$ 25 per day or part of day that submission or payment

   is delayed or withheld

	
	
	

	
	Securities Depository Law
	

	30209
	Operation Without a License
	$250 to $1,000, or 3 to 12 months county jail or both

	
	
	

	
	Residential Mortgage Lending Act
	

	50306
	Open or Change Branch Office Without 

  Approval
	Up to $100 for 1st 10 day, $10 every day thereafter

	50326
	Failure to File Reports When Due
	Up to $100 each day up to the 10th day

	50500
	Willful Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $10,000 or up to 1 year state/county prison or both

	50501
	Violation of Law/Rule/Order
	Up to $2,500 Civil Penalty per violation

	NOTE #3:  Administrative Penalties:  Up to $1,000 for first violation and up to $2,500 for each subsequent violation, for persons other than broker-dealers and investment advisers; and up to $5,000 for first violation, up to $10,000 for second violation, and up to $15,000 for each subsequent violation, for broker-dealers and investment advisers.
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