STATE OF CALIFORNIA -- BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION AND HOUSING AGENCY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor

DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
Business Services and Consumer and Investor Protection

Preston DuFauchard
California Corporations Commissioner

Los Angeles, California
IN REPLY REFER TO:

FILENO: ALPHA
March 1, 2010

TO: All Licensees under the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act and California
Finance Lenders Law

FROM: California Department of Corporations

RE: Application Fees for Mortgage Loan Originators

The Secure and Fair Enforcement of Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) requires state
agencies, including the California Department of Corporations (Department), to issue a license to any
and all individuals engaged in the business of originating mortgages in the state. This includes
Mortgage Loan Originators (MLO) employed by the Department’s licensees. The deadline for
MLOs to obtain a license from the Department is July 31, 2010. Any mortgages originated after July
31, 2010, by Department licensees must be done so through a licensed MLO. Applications should be
submitted through NMLS by May 28, 2010 to allow the Department time to complete the application
process and have the license issued by July 31, 2010. The Department is encouraging Mortgage
Loan Originators to apply for their licenses as early as possible.

To encourage early applications, Mortgage Loan Originators who apply for their licenses on or
before March 31, 2010, will not be charged an application fee by the Department of
Corporations. The only fees will be the $30.00 system fee and the $39.00 fingerprinting fee
charged by NMLS. The initial application fee for mortgage loan originators applying for their
licenses after March 31, 2010 will be $100.00 payable to the Department through NMLS plus the
$30.00 NMLS system fee and $39.00 fingerprinting fee.

The Department has notified NMLS of the waiver of the application fee for those individuals
who submit an application by March 31, 2010. Due to differences in time zones Mortgage Loan
Originators must submit the application to the Department of Corporations by 9:00 pm (PDT)
on March 31, 2010. Mortgage Loan Originators may apply for the license and receive the
waiver of the Department’s application fee even if the applicant has not completed the
fingerprints, education, testing or other requirements. Fees for fingerprinting and other non-
Department processing fees will be required by the appropriate agencies.

Complete information about the CSBS/AARMR Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System may be
found at: www.stateregulatoryregistry.org/NMLS.
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