Highlights of 2016 State Chaptered L egislation

The legislation noted below is a compendium of many, but not necessarily al, of the chaptered
bills that may affect or be of interest to DBO licensees. The full text of these bills may be found
at: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/bill SearchClient.xhtml

BANKSAND CREDIT UNIONS

AB 1723 (Dodd)

Debt Collection.

AB 1723, Chapter 376, Statutes 2016
(Civil Code)

This bill prescribes under the Identity Theft Resolution Act the time frames within which
adebt collector must, if it furnished adverse information about a debtor to a consumer
credit reporting agency, investigate the debtor’s claim of identity theft and notify the
consumer credit reporting agency and creditor concerning the disputed debt. This bill also
requires the debt collector to inform the debtor of the results of the investigation and
prohibits the creditor from selling the debt after the debt collector ceases collection
activities.

The California Debt Collection Practices Act defines “debt collector” as any person who
in the ordinary course of business regularly, on behalf of himself or herself or others,
engages in debt collection.

AB 1784 (Dababneh)

State banks.

AB 1784, Chapter 180, Statutes 2016
(Financial Code)

Thisbill allows state-chartered banks to participate in financial education programs that
include receiving deposits or processing withdrawals on school premises, or at afacility
used by a schoal, if certain conditions are met.

AB 2258 (Eggman)

Unclaimed property.

AB 2258, Chapter 463, Statutes 2016
(Code of Civil Procedure)

This bill amends the Unclaimed Property Law to provide that specific electronic
transactions, which are reflected in the books and records of a banking or financial
institution, constitute account activity, starting on or before January 1, 2018. This will
require banking and financial institutions to consider electronic transactions when
determining whether property is unclaimed and subject to escheat. As aresult, such
transactions will be subject to the three-year timeline used to determine whether such
funds or deposits have been abandoned.



AB 2274 (Dababneh)

Credit unions.

AB 2274, Chapter 463, Statutes 2016
(Financial Code)

This bill amends the California Credit Union Law to allow a credit union to form an audit
committee in place of a supervisory committee if specified requirements are met. This bill
also makes changes to the functions and statutory requirements of a credit union, the
credit union’s board of directors and the board’s supervisory committee.

MORTGAGE LENDING

AB 1645 (Dababneh)

M ortgage guaranty insurance.

AB 1645, Chapter 62, Statutes 2016
(Insurance Code)

This bill removes the provision in the law that was supposed to become operative January
1, 2018, which limits the amount of risk a mortgage guaranty insurer may cover with
mortgage insurance, before reinsurance is required, to 30 percent of the indebtedness on a
first lien mortgage. Under the bill, mortgage guaranty insurers will not be subject to the
requirement to obtain reinsurance for mortgage insurance coverage beyond 30 percent of
an insured’s indebtedness.

SB 657 (Berryhill)

The California Residential Mortgage Lending Act: lenders: licensees
SB 657, Chapter 797, Statutes 2016

(Financial Code)

This bill amends the definition of “lender” under the California Residential Mortgage
Lending Act to specify that licensees engaging in loan processing or underwriting
activities, but not otherwise originating mortgage loans, do not need to be federally-
approved lenders.

SB 983 (Morrell)

Finance lenders. commercial loan: referral
SB 983, Chapter 170, Statutes 2016
(Financial Code)

This bill increases the base fees a trustee performing a non-judicial foreclosure may
charge. Thishill aso repeals Section 2924.11 of the Civil Code, which isaduplicative
section, and makes other technical changes.



SB 1150 (L eno)

Trust and mortgage deeds. successors in interest.
SB 1150, Chapter 838, Statutes 2016

(Civil Code)

This bill alows successorsin interest, as defined, who document ownership interest in the
subject real property, to apply to assume the loan of a deceased borrower, or to apply to
assume the loan and simultaneously apply for a foreclosure prevention aternative.
Successors in interest who wish to assume the deceased’s loan and apply for a foreclosure
prevention alternative must be afforded California Homeowner Bill of Rights protections,
except the “initial contact” requirement. This bill will sunset on January 1, 2020.

AB 2562 (Committee on Veteran Affairs)
Military service: benefits.

AB 2562, Chapter 332, Statutes 2016

(Military and Veterans Code)

Existing law authorizes areservist who is called to active duty on and after January 1,
2014, to defer payments on mortgages, credit cards, retail installment accounts and
contracts, real property taxes and assessments, vehicle leases and obligations owed to
utility companies. A reservist may defer payments for the period of active duty plus 60
calendar days, or 180 days, whichever isless. Existing law provides similar authorization
to areservist who was called to active duty before January 1, 2014 as a part of the Iraq
and Afghanistan conflicts.

This bill deletes references to the date areservist is called to active duty, in both the
definition of areservist and the payment deferral provisions, thereby making the above-
described benefits available to any reservist who otherwise meets the definition.

AB 2693 (Dababneh)

Financing requirements: property improvements.
Chapter 618, Statutes 2016

(Government Code and the Streets and Highways Code)

This bill establishes additiona standards property owners must meet to qualify for
Property Assessed Clean Energy (PACE) financing. The bill also gives homeowners three
daysto cancel a PACE contract without penalty or obligation and requires that they are
given adetailed financing estimate and disclosure before finalizing a PACE transaction.

FINANCE LENDERS

SB 777 (Lara)

Cdlifornia Finance Lenders Law: exemption for commercial loans.
SB 777, Chapter 478, Statutes 2016

(Financial Code)




This bill exempts from the California Finance Lenders Law until January 1, 2022 a
person that makes one commercial loan in a 12-month period. This bill restores the
exemption that existed in law prior to 2014.

SB 984 (Hueso)

Pilot Program for Increased Access to Responsible Small Dollar Loans.
SB 984, Chapter 480, Statutes 2016

(Financial Code)

This bill extends the sunset date of the Pilot Program for Increased Access to Responsible
Small Dollar Loans (Pilot Program) another five years, from January 1, 2018 to January
1, 2023. This bill requires the Department to recommend whether the Pilot Program
should be continued after January 1, 2023. The bill removes arequirement that the
Department conduct random sample surveys of borrowers. The bill increases the number
of aggregate utilization reports the Department must prepare and post to its website from
one report due in 2017 to atotal of five reports, due annually on or before July 1, from
2017 through 2021.

STUDENT LOAN SERVICERS

AB 2251 (Stone)

Student loan servicers:. licensing and regulation: Student Loan Servicing Act.
AB 2251, Chapter 824, Statutes 2016

(Financial Code)

This bill adds a new Division, the “California Student Loan Servicing Act (Act),” to the
Financial Code. The Act requires servicersto adhere to specified borrower protections
when servicing student loans. The bill also expands the authority of the Commissioner of
Business Oversight to include the licensure, regulation and oversight of student loan
servicers. This bill prohibits a person from acting as a student loan servicer without a
license, unless exempt. This new Division becomes operative on July 1, 2018. The
Commissioner may take action on and after January 1, 2017, as authorized under the
Division to prepare for the July 1, 2018 operative date.

ESCROW

AB 2416 (Wilk)

Escrow agent rating service.

AB 2416, Chapter 135, Statutes 2016
(Civil Code)

This bill extends for another five years, until January 1, 2022, the sunset date on alaw
that requires escrow agent rating services to comply with specific sections of the
California Consumer Credit Reporting Agencies Act. Specifically, this bill continues to
allow an escrow agent to inspect all files maintained by arating company regarding that
agent and to dispute and correct inaccurate information. This bill also continues to require
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VI.

until January 1, 2022 that arating company establish policies and procedures to safeguard
any personally identifiable information it obtains from an escrow agent.

REAL ESTATE

AB 1807 (Bonta)

Real estate licensees

AB 1807, Chapter 558, Statutes 2016
(Business and Professions Code)

Thishill allows areal estate licensee to request the removal of a disciplinary action from
the Bureau of Real Estate’s (BRE) website if it has been posted for at least 10 years. In
evaluating a petition, the BRE’s Commissioner must consider other violations since the
posting of the discipline action requested for removal. The real estate licensee must pay a
fee, submit a petition and provide evidence that demonstrates the posting is no longer
required to protect the public. This bill authorizes the BRE to develop regulations to
determine the amount of the fee and the information a licensee’s petition must include.
AB 1807 aso requires the BRE to maintain and update alist of all licensees whose
disciplinary records are altered as aresult of the petition process and to make the list
available to other licensing bodies. This bill will become operative on January 1, 2018.



