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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Accusation of THE File No.: 963-2205

CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS
COMMISSIONER,

ACCUSATION
Complainant,
VS.

WHITTIER ESCROW, INC.,

Respondent.

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

The Complainant, California Corporations Commissioner (“Complainant” or
“Commissioner”) is informed and believes and based upon such information and belief, alleges and

charges as follows:

I
Whittier Escrow, Inc. (“Respondent” or “Whittier Escrow”) is an escrow agent licensed by
the Commissioner pursuant to the Escrow Law of the State of California (California Financial Code
section 17000 et seq.).
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Pursuant to Financial Code section 17406, all licensees under the Escrow Law are required to
file an annual audit report containing audited financial statements (“audit report”) within one
hundred and five (105) days after the close of their designated fiscal year. Respondent’s fiscal year
ended on September 30, 2008. Accordingly, Respondent was required to file its audit report on or
before January 13, 2009.

On or about August 11, 2008, Complainant notified Respondent in writing that it had until
January 15, 2009, an additional two days, to file its audit report. Respondent, however, failed to file
its audit report.

On or about February 19, 2009, a follow-up letter was sent to Respondent concerning its
failure to file the audit report. Respondent was notified in the letter that failure to file the audit
report within ten (10) days of the date of the letter will result in Respondent being assessed $100 per
day for each day the audit report is overdue, in addition to a potential special examination,
suspension and/or revocation of its escrow agent’s license.

Respondent has yet to file the audit report as required by Financial Code section 17406.

Financial Code section 17602.5 provides in pertinent part as follows:

If any licensed escrow agent fails to make any reports required by law
or by the commissioner within ten (10) days from the day designated
for the making of the reports, or within any extension of time granted
by the commissioner, . . . such failure shall constitute grounds for

the suspension or revocation of the license held by such escrow agent.

In addition, Financial Code section 17608 provides in pertinent part:

The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to
be heard, suspend or revoke any license if he finds that:...(b) The

licensee has violated any provision of this division or any rule made
by the commissioner under and within the authority of this division.

I
I
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Complainant finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Respondent has violated Financial Code
section 17406, by failing to file its 2008 fiscal year audit report, which constitutes grounds under
Financial Code sections 17602.5 and 17608, for the suspension of its escrow agent’s license.
WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that the Respondent's escrow agent’s license be suspended
until such time as Respondent files its audit report for the fiscal year end September 30, 2008 or for &

period of 30 days, whichever period is greater.

Dated: October 20, 2009
Sacramento, CA PRESTON DuFAUCHARD
California Corporations Commissioner

By

Lindsay B. Herrick
Corporations Counsel
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