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PRESTON DuFAUCHARD 
California Corporations Commissioner 
WAYNE STRUMPFER  
Deputy Commissioner 
ALAN S. WEINGER (CA BAR NO. 86717) 
Lead Corporations Counsel  
MARISA I. URTEAGA-WATKINS (CA BAR NO. 236398) 
Corporations Counsel  
Department of Corporations 
1515 K Street, Suite 200 
Sacramento, California 95814 
Telephone: (916) 445-9626 
Facsimile: (916) 445-6985  
Attorneys for Complainant 
 

 BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS 

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 

 

In the Matter of the Accusation of THE 
CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS 
COMMISSIONER, 
 
  Complainant, 
 
 vs. 
 
ROCK & ROLL ESCROW, INC., 
 
  Respondent. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

File No.:  963-2395 
 
FIRST AMENDED ORDER IMPOSING 
PENALTIES PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA 
FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 17408 
 
 

 

TO: ROCK & ROLL ESCROW, INC.             
       12631 E. Imperial Hwy Ste. 20413  

Santa Fe Springs CA 90670 

 

NOW THEREFORE the California Corporations Commissioner (“Commissioner”, 

“Complainant”) having found that ROCK & ROLL ESCROW, INC. failed to file its annual audit 

report containing audited financial statements for its original fiscal year ending June 30, 2007, with a 

revised fiscal year ending date of November 30, 2007 as required by Financial Code section 17406, 
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ROCK & ROLL ESCROW, INC. is hereby ordered, pursuant to Financial Code section 17408, to 

pay to the Commissioner the sum of $18,500.00 plus an additional $100.00 per calendar day for each 

day after the date of this Order that the Annual Report is not filed. 

Pursuant to Financial Code section 17406, all licensees under the Escrow Law are required to 

file an annual audit report containing audited financial statements (“Annual Report”) within one 

hundred and five (105) days after the close of their fiscal year.   

ROCK AND ROLL ESCROW, INC.’s  (“Respondent”) original fiscal year end was June 30, 

2007 (“Original Fiscal Year End Date”). Accordingly, Respondent was originally required to file its 

Annual Report on or before October 15, 2007 (“Original Annual Report Due Date”). 

On or about May 21, 2007, Complainant notified Respondent in writing of Respondent’s 

Original Annual Report Due Date. Respondent failed to file the Annual Report by the Original 

Annual Report Due Date. On or about October 25, 2007, a follow up letter was sent to Respondent 

concerning its failure to file the Annual Report. Respondent was notified in the letter that failure to 

file to the Annual Report could result in assessment of penalties, a special examination and/or 

administrative action.   

Respondent subsequently notified the Commissioner that their fiscal year ending date had 

changed.  Respondents’ notice, dated March 13, 2008 and received by the Commissioner on March 

19, 2008, stated that Respondents revised fiscal year end date was November 30, 2007 (“Revised 

Fiscal Year End Date”).  Respondent was therefore required to file its Annual Report on or before 

March 15, 2008 (“Revised Annual Report Due Date”).   

To date, Respondent has yet to file the Original Fiscal Year End Date Annual Report or the 

Revised Fiscal Year End Date Annual Report as required by Financial Code section 17406. 

Financial Code Section 17408, subdivisions (b) – (e) provides as follows: 

(b) The commissioner may impose, by order, a penalty on any person  
who fails, within the time specified in any written demand of the  
commissioner, (1) to make and file with the commissioner any report  
required by law or requested by the commissioner.. . .  The amount of the  
penalty shall be one hundred dollars ($100) for each day for the first five  
days the report or information is overdue and, thereafter, five hundred dollars  
($500) for each day the report or information is overdue. 

 
(c) If, after an order has been made under subdivision (b), a request for  
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hearing is filed in writing within 30 days of the date of service of  the order  
by the person to whom the order was directed, a hearing shall be held  
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 5 (commencing  
with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government 
Code, and the commissioner shall have all the powers granted under that chapter. 
(d) If the person fails to file a written request for a hearing within 30 days  
of the date of service of the order, the order imposing the penalty shall be  
deemed a final order of the commissioner, and the penalty shall be paid within  
five business days.   

    (e) If a hearing is requested, the penalty shall be paid within five business  
days after the effective date of any decision in the case ordering payment to be paid. 
 

 
 

Dated: April 17, 2008    PRESTON DuFAUCHARD    
   Sacramento, CA                  California Corporations Commissioner       
   

 

              

         By_____________________________ 
   

            Alan S. Weinger, Lead Corporations Counsel 


	       12631 E. Imperial Hwy Ste. 20413 
	Santa Fe Springs CA 90670

	Dated: April 17, 2008    PRESTON DuFAUCHARD   
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