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PRESTON DuFAUCHARD 
California Corporations Commissioner  
ALAN S. WEINGER 
Deputy Commissioner 
AFSANEH EGHBALDARI (CA BAR NO. 250107) 
Corporations Counsel  
California Department of Corporations 
1350 Front Street, Room 2034 
San Diego, California 92101 
Telephone: (619) 645-3166   
Fax: (619) 525-4045  
 
Attorneys for Complainant 
 
 
 

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS 

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 
In the Matter of the Accusation of THE 
CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS 
COMMISSIONER, 
 
                      Complainant,   
 

             v. 
 
NEWKEY HOME LENDING; PINNACLE 
HOME LOAN (MAC ONE INVESTMENTS, 
INC., DBA), 
 
                        Respondent. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
)    

 
File No.:     413-0602 
 
 
AMENDED ACCUSATION  
 
 
 
 

 

The Complainant, California Corporations Commissioner ("Commissioner"), is informed and 

believes, and based upon such information and belief, alleges and charges Respondent Newkey Home 

Lending; Pinnacle Home Loan (Mac One Investments, Inc. DBA) ("Respondent") as follows: 

I. 

Respondent is a residential mortgage lender and mortgage loan servicer licensed by the 

California Department of Corporations pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act 

(“CRMLA”) (California Financial Code sections 50000 et seq.).  Respondent had its principal place 

of business located at 495 E. Rincon Street, Suite 207, Corona, CA, 92879.   
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II. 

Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50200, on December 6, 2005, the 

Commissioner notified Respondent in writing that it was required to submit an annual audit report 

("Audit Report") for its fiscal year ending on December 31, 2005 no later than April 15, 2006.  

Respondent failed to file its 2005 Audit Report.  Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50326, 

a licensee shall pay $100.00 penalty for each day up to the 10th day for failure to file a report required 

by law or by the Commissioner.  On or about August 10, 2006, Respondent was notified, in writing, 

that Respondent must remit a penalty amount of $1,000.00 for its failure to file its 2005 Audit Report.  

Respondent was also notified that its failure to file the Audit Report or remit the $1,000.00 penalty 

would result in a revocation of Respondent’s license. Respondent filed its 2005 Audit Report on 

August 28, 2006, but it never paid the administrative penalty.   

On or about December 17, 2007, the Commissioner notified Respondent in writing that, 

pursuant to California Financial Code section 50200, it was required to submit its Audit Report for its 

fiscal year ending on December 31, 2007 no later than April 15, 2008.  Respondent failed to file its 

2007 Audit Report.  On or about June 4, 2008, the Commissioner notified Respondent in writing that 

it had failed to file its 2007 Audit Report and it was required to file the 2007 Audit Report within ten 

(10) days of the date of the letter.  Respondent was further notified that its failure to file the 2007 

Audit Report would result in assessment of fines.  Again, Respondent failed to file its 2007 Audit 

Report.  

On or about August 1, 2008, Respondent was notified, in writing, that Respondent must remit 

a penalty amount of $1,000.00, pursuant to California Financial Code section 50326, for its failure to 

file its 2007 Audit Report.  Respondent was also notified that its failure to file the Audit Report or 

remit the $1,000.00 penalty would result in a revocation of Respondent’s license.    

III. 

Pursuant to California Financial Code sections 50307, 50401 and California Code of 

Regulations, title 10, section 1950.314.8, all licensees are required to file an annual Report of 

Principal Amount of Loans and Aggregate Amount of Loans Serviced ("Activity Report") on or 

before March 1st of each year for the preceding 12-month period ended December 31.   
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On or about February 1, 2008, an Activity Report form was sent to all CRMLA licensees with 

a notice that their Activity Report was due on or before March 1, 2008.  Respondent did not file its 

Activity Report in violation of California Financial Code sections 50307, 50401 and California Code 

of Regulations, title 10, section 1950.314.8.   

On or about May 15, 2008, the Commissioner notified Respondent in writing that it had failed 

to file its Activity Report and, pursuant to California Financial Code section 50326, Respondent must 

remit a penalty amount of $1,000.00 for its failure to file its Activity Report.    

IV. 

On or about October 1, 2008, Respondent filed its 2007 Audit Report and submitted 

information regarding restructuring of its management. After reviewing the 2007 Audit Report, 

reviewing the information regarding restructuring of Respondent’s management and examining 

Respondent’s file, the Commissioner discovered that Respondent failed to remit the three prior 

penalties that were assessed on August 10, 2006, May 15, 2008 and August 1, 2008 totaling 

$3,000.00.  Respondent also failed to pay its fiscal year 2008-2009 annual assessment fees.  

Respondent further failed to file its Activity Report and the 2007 Residential Mortgage Loan Report. 

Furthermore, Respondent changed its name and officers without notifying the Commissioner.  

Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50124(a)(6), Respondent was required to file 

with the Commissioner post-licensing amendments prior to any material change in the information 

contained in the licensing application.  Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50206, 

Respondent was required to submit a written application prior to a change of control of its business.  

Respondent, in violation of California Financial Code sections 50124(a)(6) and 50206, failed to file 

the post-licensing amendments and failed to submit a written application to reflect these changes.   

V. 

In light of these findings, on or about October 2, 2008, the Commissioner notified Respondent 

in writing that it was required to file post-licensing documents to reflect the changes, remit the three 

delinquent penalties, pay its fiscal year 2008-2009 annual assessment, file its Activity Report and file 

the 2007 Residential Mortgage Loan Report. In response to the Commissioner’s October 2, 2008 

demand, Respondent submitted incomplete and deficient reports and post-licensing documents.  On 
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or about October 31, 2008, the Commissioner notified Respondent that the reports and post-licensing 

documents were incomplete and deficient, and that it had failed to pay the penalties and the annual 

assessment. On or about November 7, 2008, Respondent paid the penalties and again submitted 

incomplete and deficient reports and post-licensing documents. On or about December 15, 2008, the 

Commissioner again notified Respondent that the reports and post-licensing documents were 

incomplete and deficient, and that Respondent failed to pay the assessment.  Subsequently, 

Respondent paid its fiscal year 2008-2009 annual assessment and filed the reports.  On or about 

February 27, 2009 and March 12, 2009, the Commissioner again informed Respondent of the 

required post-licensing documents that should have been filed to reflect the changes. Respondent was 

notified that failure to completely submit all the required post-licensing amendments would result in 

an action to suspend or revoke its license. The Commissioner further notified Respondent that an on-

site regulatory examination would be conducted in May 2009.  Notwithstanding the Commissioner 

numerous attempts to assist Respondent, Respondent failed to completely and adequately file the 

amendments reflecting the material changes.   

VI. 

 Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50302, the Commissioner can examine the 

affairs of a licensee, as often as he deems necessary and appropriate.  On or about May 20, 2009, the 

Commissioner, by and through his examiner, conducted a regulatory examination of Respondent’s 

business. The Commissioner noted several violations in addition to the previous violations.   

 Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50120(b), a licensee may not engage in the 

business as a residential mortgage lender under a name other than the name that appears on the 

license.  According to the documents obtained by the Commissioner, Respondent is using different 

names other than the name that appears on its license, including but not limited to, Newkey Home 

Lending, Newkey Financial Corp., and Newkey Home Lending Corporation.   

 Section 1950.204.3 of the California Code of Regulations requires a license to used the 

following statement: “Licensed by the Department of Corporations under the California Residential 

Mortgage Lending Act” in any written, printed, spoken or recorded communication.  Respondent’s 

website did not indicate the authority under which Respondent was authorized to do business in 
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violation of section 1950.204.3. 

Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50124(a)(2), a licensee must keep and maintain 

business records and other information required by law or rules of the Commissioner regarding any 

mortgage loan made or serviced in the course of the conduct of its business.  On or about May 20, 

2009, the Commissioner requested a copy of Respondent’s Board Minutes from August 2007 to 

September 2008.  Respondent informed the Commissioner that its “Ex-Corporate Secretary Mr. 

Donte Andry” deleted Respondent’s Board Minutes for that period for confidentiality purposes.    

Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50306, a written notification must be made to 

the Commissioner prior to opening a new branch office or making any changes to existing business 

location.  Respondent notified the Commissioner after it moved out of its Corona office.  According 

to Respondent’s executive assistant, Respondent’s loan agents were conducting CRMLA activities 

from their residence.   

 Pursuant to California Financial Code section 50207(b), a license is not transferable or 

assignable.  The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development issued Handbook 4060.1 Rev-

2 FHA: Title II Mortgagee Approval (“Mortgagee Approval”) in August 2006 that both prohibits and 

provides guidance and clarification for certain branch arrangements, staffing requirements and 

payments of operating expenses.  The Commissioner considers these guidelines when reviewing 

operations by licensees under CRMLA.  Respondent entered into a “Recruiting Agreement” and an 

“Outside Loan Agent Employment Agreement” with its loan in violation of California Financial 

Code section 50207(b).   

California Financial Code section 50200(d) provides in pertinent part that a licensee shall file 

an accounting and financial report certified by a certified public accountant.  In violation of section 

50200(d), Respondent’s 2008 Audit Report was not certified by a certified public accountant.  

On or about June 25, 2009, the Commissioner notified Respondent about the violations and 

asked Respondent to submit the corrections within thirty calendar days.  Respondent failed to 

completely and adequately file the corrections and remedy the violations.   
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VII. 
  

Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part: 

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to be 
heard, suspend or revoke any license if the commissioner finds that: (1) the 
licensee has violated any provision of this division or any rule or order of 
the commissioner thereunder; or (2) any fact or condition exists that, if it 
had existed at the time of the original application for license, reasonably 
would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license 
originally. 

 
Financial Code section 50311 states: 

Nothing in this law shall preclude a person whose license has been  
suspended or revoked, summarily or otherwise, from making a  
residential mortgage loan pursuant to a commitment issued by that  
person prior to the suspension or revocation.  A prospective borrower 
who received a commitment issued by a person whose license has  
been suspended or revoked may, prior to the closing of the loan,  
terminate the commitment or receive a refund of all money paid to  
that person. 

VIII. 

 The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Newkey Home Lending; Pinnacle 

Home Loan (Mac One Investments, Inc. DBA) has violated California Financial Code sections 

50124(a)(6), 50206, 50120(b), 50306, 50200, 50200(d), 50124(a)(2), 50207(b), and California Code 

of Regulations section 1950.204.3 and based thereon grounds exist to revoke the residential mortgage 

lender and mortgage loan servicer license of Newkey Home Lending; Pinnacle Home Loan (Mac 

One Investments, Inc. DBA). 

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that the residential mortgage lender and mortgage loan 

servicer license of Newkey Home Lending; Pinnacle Home Loan (Mac One Investments, Inc. DBA) 

be revoked and, pursuant to California Financial Code section 50311, Newkey Home Lending; 

Pinnacle Home Loan (Mac One Investments, Inc. DBA) be given a transition period of sixty (60) 

days within which to complete any loans for which it had prior commitments. 
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DATED:  September 16, 2009  PRESTON DuFAUCHARD  
San Diego, CA            California Corporations Commissioner 
                

             By_____________________________ 
              AFSANEH EGHBALDARI   
                                                                      Corporations Counsel  




