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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

BUSINESS, TRANSPORTATION AND HOUSING AGENCY 

DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS 

 
 
TO: Express Cash and Loan, Inc. (Department File No.100-0652) 

Rebecca A. Martin, President/CEO 
 300 North E Street 
 Madera, CA  93638 
 

 

DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER 
 (For violations of California Financial Code sections 23036 and 23037) 

 
 

ORDER VOIDING DEFERRED DEPOSIT TRANSACTIONS  
(California Financial Code section 23060) 

 
The California Corporations Commissioner (“Commissioner”) finds that: 

1. The California Department of Corporations (“Department”) is responsible for enforcing  

provisions of the California Deferred Deposit Transaction Law (“CDDTL”) found in California 

Financial Code section 23000 et seq.   The Commissioner is authorized to pursue administrative 

actions and remedies against its licensees who violate the CDDTL. 

2. On December 31, 2004, the Commissioner issued a CDDTL license (Department File  

No. 100-0652) to Express Cash and Loan, Inc., a California corporation that conducts business at 

300 N. E Street, Madera, California 93638.   

3. Rebecca A. Martin (“Martin”) is the President, CEO and shareholder of Express Cash  

and Loan, Inc., hereafter Martin and Express Cash and Loan, Inc. are referred to as the “Licensee”.   

4. Since January 1, 2005, the Department’s Licensee engaged in the business of deferred  

deposit transactions by offering, originating and making deferred deposit transactions. 

 5.   A deferred deposit transaction is a written transaction whereby one person gives funds 

to another person upon receipt of a personal check along with an agreement that the personal 

check will not be deposited until a later date.  This type of transaction is also referred to as a 

“payday advance” or “payday loan.” 
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6. The Licensee had knowledge of the CDDTL and represented that it would comply with  

all provisions of the CDDTL, as shown by the declarations signed under penalty of perjury by 

Martin.   

7. After giving the Licensee written and oral notice in advance of the Department’s  

2007 regulatory examination, the Department’s examiner visited the Licensee business and 

discovered that the Licensee engaged in CDDTL violations, notwithstanding representations made in 

sworn declarations to the Commissioner that it would comply with the CDDTL. 

8. All licensees are required to comply with all CDDTL requirements and are prohibited  

from charging excessive or unauthorized fees in connection with deferred deposit transactions.  

Financial Code section 23036, subdivisions (a), (e) and (f), limit fees and charges stating: 
 

(a) A fee for a deferred deposit transaction shall not exceed 15 percent of 
the face amount of the check. . . . 
 
(e) A fee not to exceed fifteen dollars ($15) may be charged for the 
return of a dishonored check by a depositary institution in a deferred 
deposit transaction. A single fee charged pursuant to this subdivision is 
the exclusive charge for a dishonored check. No fee may be added for 
late payment. 
 
(f) No amount in excess of the amounts authorized by this section shall 
be directly or indirectly charged by a licensee pursuant to a deferred 
deposit transaction. 
 

  11.  Financial Code section 23037 limits a licensee’s transactions and activities stating: 

In no case shall a licensee do any of the following: . . . 
 

(a)  Accept or use the same check for a subsequent transaction, or 
permit a customer to pay off all or a portion of one deferred 
deposit transaction with the proceeds of another. 

 
12.  During the Department’s regulatory examination the Licensee was informed that it  

was in violation of the CDDTL.  Financial Code section 23036 specifically limits the amounts 

and types of fees that Licensees may charge customers.  During the regulatory examination, the 

Licensee failed to provide the Department’s examiner with complete information to enable an 

accurate determination of the amount and type of each fee it required its customers to pay.  
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13.  Subsequently, the Department subpoenaed documents and the Licensee was  

questioned about the specific customers’ transactions and fees involved.  The Licensee admitted 

charging the following unauthorized and excessive fees including a $10 “set up” fee or charge;  a  

$5 “lost ticket charge” and (3) an excessive amount for a customer check that was dishonored and 

returned by the bank.  The Licensee admitted it charged an unauthorized set up fee of $10 to at 

least 11 customers during 2005 and 2006 and admitted it overcharged 16 customers $10 for each 

for their checks returned due to non-sufficient funds (“NSF”) in 2005.   Further, the Licensee 

admitted that it allowed at least 52 customers to use the same check for a subsequent transaction 

during 2005 and 2006.   The Licensee’s unauthorized “set up fee” of $10 to at least 11 customers 

during 2005 and 2006 violated Financial Code section 23036, subdivision (a).  The Licensee’s 

excessive NSF fee of $25 to 16 customers violates Financial Code section 23036, subdivision (e).  

The Licensee’s $5 “lost ticket charge” violates Financial Code section 23036, subdivision (f).  

Additionally, the Licensee violated Financial Code section 23037, subdivision (a).    

DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER 

 By reason of the foregoing, the Licensee’s transactions with 27 customers failed to comply 

with the CDDTL restrictions on fees and charges and the Licensee’s transactions with 52 customers 

failed to comply with restrictions on acceptance and use of a check for a subsequent transaction.  

 California Financial Code section 23050 provides in pertinent part: 
 
Whenever, in the opinion of the commissioner, any person is engaged in 
the business of deferred deposit transactions, as defined in this division, 
without a license from the commissioner, or any licensee is violating any 
provision of this division, the commissioner may order that person or 
licensee to desist and to refrain from engaging in the business or further 
violating this division.  If, within 30 days, after the order is served, a 
written request for a hearing is filed and no hearing is held within 30 
days thereafter, the order is rescinded. 
 

 Pursuant to Financial Code section 23050, the Licensee is hereby ordered to desist and 

refrain from violating Financial Code sections 23036 and 23037.  This Order is necessary for the 

protection of consumers and consistent with the purposes, policies and provisions of the CDDTL.  

This Order shall remain in full force and effect until further order of the Commissioner. 
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ORDER VOIDING DEFERRED DEPOSIT TRANSACTIONS 

The Commissioner finds the Licensee willfully violated Financial Code sections 23036  

and 23037, respectively by charging 27 customers excessive or unauthorized fees and by using 

the same check from each of 52 customers for a subsequent transaction with these customers.   

 California Financial Code section 23060 states:  

(a) If any amount other than, or in excess of, the charges or fees permitted 
by this division is willfully charged, contracted for, or received, a deferred 
deposit transaction contract shall be void, and no person shall have any 
right to collect or receive the principal amount provided in the deferred 
deposit transaction, any charges, or fees in connection with the transaction. 

  
(b) If any provision of this division is willfully violated in the making or 
collection of a deferred deposit transaction, the deferred deposit 
transaction contract shall be void, and no person shall have any right to 
collect or receive any amount provided in the deferred deposit transaction, 
any charges, or fees in connection with the transaction. 
 

 Pursuant to Financial Code section 23060, the Commissioner declares void each of the 

Licensee’s above-described deferred deposit transactions with 79 California consumers identified 

by the Licensee in the documents provided to the Commissioner.   

 The Commissioner finds the Licensee has no right to collect or receive any amount provided 

in the deferred deposit transaction or any charges, or fees in connection with the deferred deposit 

transactions involving the 79 customers identified by the Licensee.  Pursuant to Financial Code 

section 23060 the Commissioner hereby orders that within 30 days from the date of this Order, as 

shown below, the Licensee forfeit and return all charges, fees and other amounts collected or 

received in connection with the 79 customers’ deferred deposit transactions. 

Dated: November 2, 2007          
Los Angeles, California 

PRESTON DuFAUCHARD 
California Corporations Commissioner 

 

 

     By_____________________________ 
         ALAN S.WEINGER  
                                                                Lead Corporations Counsel 
                                                                Enforcement Division    
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