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PRESTON DuFAUCHARD

California Corporations Commissioner

ALAN S. WEINGER (CA BAR NO. 86717)
Deputy Commissioner

BRENT S.B. LINDGREN (CA BAR NO. 170360)
Senior Corporations Counsel

Department of Corporations

1515 K Street, Ste. 200

Sacramento, California 95814

Telephone: (916) 322-8778 Fax: (916) 445-6985

Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of the Accusation of THE File No.: 963-2201

CALIFORNIA CORPORATIONS

COMMISSIONER, ORDER IMPOSING PENALTIES PURSUANT

TO CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL CODE

Complainant, SECTION 17408
VS.

CATALINA ESCROW, INC.,

Respondent.

N N N N N N N N N N N N

TO: CATALINA ESCROW, INC.
1200 Artesia Boulevard, Suite 300
Hermosa Beach, California 90254

NOW THEREFORE the California Corporations Commissioner (“Commissioner”) having fo
that Catalina Escrow, Inc. failed to timely file its annual audit report containing audited financial
statements for its fiscal year ending December 31, 2008 as required by Financial Code section 17406
Catalina Escrow, Inc. is hereby ordered, pursuant to Financial Code section 17408, to pay to the
Commissioner the sum of $10,600.00 plus an additional $100 per day hereafter until the annual audit
report is filed.
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Pursuant to Financial Code section 17406, Catalina Escrow, Inc. (“Catalina Escrow’) was
required to submit its annual audit report for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2008 (“2008 audit
report”) to the Commissioner on or before April 15, 20009.

On or about November 17, 2008, the Commissioner notified Catalina Escrow in writing that i

2008 audit report was due April 15, 2009. Catalina Escrow failed to file the 2008 audit report by Apfi

15, 20009.

On or about June 26, 2009, a follow-up letter was sent via certified mail to Catalina Escrow
concerning its failure to file the 2008 audit report. Catalina Escrow was notified that failure to file tk
2008 audit report could result in assessment of penalties, immediate examination of books and record
suspension and/or revocation of escrow agent’s license. This letter was certified as delivered on July
20009.

This Order imposes penalties of $100 per day commencing on July 7, 2009 (ten days after the
June 26, 2009 follow-up letter) until such time as the 2008 audit report is eventually filed. As of the
date of this order, 106 days has expired since July 7, 2009. Catalina has not yet filed its 2008 audit
report as of this date — 189 days after the time required by Financial Code section 17406.

Financial Code Section 17408, subdivisions (b) — (e) provides as follows:

(b) The commissioner may impose, by order, a penalty on any person
who fails, within the time specified in any written demand of the
commissioner, (1) to make and file with the commissioner any report
required by law or requested by the commissioner.. .. The amount of the
penalty shall be one hundred dollars ($100) for each day for the first five
days the report or information is overdue and, thereafter, five hundred dollars
($500) for each day the report or information is overdue.

(© If, after an order has been made under subdivision (b), a request for
hearing is filed in writing within 30 days of the date of service of the order

by the person to whom the order was directed, a hearing shall be held

in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 5 (commencing
with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government

Code, and the commissioner shall have all the powers granted under that chapter.

(d) If the person fails to file a written request for a hearing within 30 days
of the date of service of the order, the order imposing the penalty shall be
deemed a final order of the commissioner, and the penalty shall be paid within
five business days.

[s

e

v

1,




State of California — Department of Corporations

© o0 N oo o B~ O w N

NI R N R N N I I R N T v T e T i o i
©® N o O B~ W N P O © ©O N o 0o b~ W N BB O

(e) If a hearing is requested, the penalty shall be paid within five business
days after the effective date of any decision in the case ordering payment to be paid.

Dated: October 21, 2009
Sacramento, CA

PRESTON DuFAUCHARD
California Corporations Commissioner

By

Alan S. Weinger, Deputy Commissioner
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