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Department of Corporations

320 West 4" Street, Ste. 750

Los Angeles, California 90013-2344

Telephone: (213) 576-7604 Fax: (213) 576-7181

Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF CORPORATIONS
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of THE CALIFORNIA ) CaseNo.: 413-0177
CORPORATIONS COMMISSIONER, )
) STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF
Complainant, ) ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS
) PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL
VS. ) CODE SECTION 50321
)
AURORA LOAN SERVICES, INC., )
)
Respondent. )
)
)

The Complainant isinformed and believes and based upon such information and belief,
alleges and charges as follows:

1 Aurora Loan Services, Inc. (“Aurora’) isaresidential mortgage lender and loan
servicer licensed by the California Corporations Commissioner ("Commissioner” or "Complainant")
pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act ("CRMLA") (California Financia
Code Section 50000 et seq.).

2. On or about March 11, 2002, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory
examination of the books and records of Aurora. The regulatory examination disclosed that in five of
fourteen, or approximately thirty-six percent (36%), of the files reviewed, Aurorawas charging the

borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the recording of the mortgage or deed of




State of California— Department of Corporations

© 00 N o o b~ w N P

N NN N NN NNDNRPR R P B R R B R R
0o N o oo M O N P O O 0N OO p WO N R O

trust in violation of California Financial Code sections 50204(i), 50204(k) and 50204(0). The per
diem interest overcharges averaged $223.03 per loan. The range of per diem interest overcharges
was between $68.52 and $528.36. The range of days that interest was overcharged was between
four and fifty-one.

3. The Commissioner found that Aurora was overcharging per diem interest during the
last regulatory examination that commenced on November 8, 2000. Based upon the findings of the
2000 regulatory examination, the Commissioner instructed Aurorato review all itsloan made since
the November 1998 regulatory examination, and make appropriate refunds. Aurorawas further
instructed by the Commissioner to implement such procedures as necessary to ensure that per diem
interest was not overcharged in the future.

4, The findings of the 2002 regul atory examination disclose that Aurora has failed to
implement procedures to ensure that per diem interest would not be overcharged in the future.

5. By reason of the foregoing, Aurora has violated California Financial Code sections
50204(i), 50204(k) and 50204(0).

6. California Financial Code section 50321 providesin pertinent part:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonabl e grounds

to believe that any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or
any law or rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall, by written order
addressed to the licensee, direct the discontinuance of the violation. The
order shall be effective immediately, but shall not become final except
in accordance with the provisions of Section 50323.

7. California Financial Code section 50323 provides:

(a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321or 50322 may become
final except after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's
intention to make the order final and of the reasons for the finding. The
commissioner shall also notify the licensee that upon receiving a
request the matter will be set for hearing to commence within 15 business
days after receipt. The licensee may consent to have the hearing
commenced at alater date. If no hearing is requested within 30 days
after the mailing or service of the required notice, and none is ordered
by the commissioner, the order may become final without hearing and
the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named in the
order. If ahearing isrequested or ordered, it shall be held in accordance
with the provisions of the administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of
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the Government Code), and the commissioner shall have al the powers
granted under that act. If, upon the hearing, it appears to the commissioner
that the licensee is conducting business in an unsafe and injurious manner

or isviolating its articles of incorporation or any law of this state, or any

rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall make the order of discontinuance
final and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named

in the order.

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to commence to
restrain enforcement of the order. If enforcement of the order is not
enjoined within 10 days by the court in which the action is brought,

the licensee shall comply with the order.

WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner isissuing an Order to Discontinue
Violations Pursuant to Financial Code Section 50321 and notifying Auroraof hisintention to make
the order final.

Dated: December 16, 2002 DEMETRIOS A. BOUTRIS
Los Angeles, California California Corporations Commissioner
By

Judy L. Hartley, Senior Corporations Counsel
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