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MARY ANN SMITH 
Deputy Commissioner 
DOUGLAS M. GOODING 
Assistant Chief Counsel 
TIMOTHY L. Le BAS (State Bar No.: 135565) 
Senior Counsel 
Department of Business Oversight 
1515 K Street, Suite 200 
Sacramento, CA  95814 
Telephone (916) 322-2050  
Facsimile: (916) 445-6985 
 
Attorneys for Complainant 
 
 

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT 

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

In the Matter of  
     
THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS 
OVERSIGHT, 
 
                    Complainant, 
 
              v. 
 
THE SENIOR’S CHOICE, INC. 
 
                    Respondent. 
 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

FIL ORG ID: 85934 
 
CITATION INCLUDING THE FOLLOWING: 
 
1. DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER; 
 
2. ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY; AND 
 
3.   REMEDIAL EDUCATION 
 
(CORPORATIONS CODE SECTIONS 31406 
AND 31408)  

   
 

Jan Lynn Owen, the Commissioner of Business Oversight of the State of California 

(“Commissioner”), finds the following: 

I. 

STATEMENT OF FACTS 

1. The Senior’s Choice, Inc. (“Senior’s”) is a Nevada Corporation with a principal place of 

business at 774 Mays Boulevard, Suite 10-297, Incline Village, Nevada 89451. Senior’s engages in 

the business of offering and selling franchises to provide in-home companion care services to senior 

citizens. 
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2. On April 6, 2007, a final Desist and Refrain Order was entered against Senior’s. This order 

was issued by the California Corporations Commissioner (now the Commissioner of Business 

Oversight), based on unregistered offers and sales of franchises. 

3. On April 22, 2013, Senior’s filed a registration renewal application with the Commissioner, to 

offer and sell franchises in California. As part of the application Senior’s submitted 2013 versions of 

its Uniform Franchise Disclosure Document (“UFDD”) and Membership Agreement. Both the UFDD 

and Membership Agreement specify an initial franchise fee of forty-five thousand dollars 

($45,000.00). 

4. On August 19, 2013, Senior’s provided 2012 versions of the UFDD and Membership 

Agreement to CW, rather than giving CW the 2013 versions currently registered with the 

Commissioner. 

5. On September 3, 2013, CW signed the Senior’s Membership Agreement and paid to Senior’s 

an initial franchise fee of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00). Rather than charging a franchise 

fee of forty-five thousand dollars ($45,000.00) which reflected the 2013 terms registered with the 

Commissioner, Senior’s negotiated the price down. Thus, Senior’s offer and sale of a franchise to 

CW were on terms different from the terms of the offer registered with the Commissioner. 

II. 

CITATION WITH DESIST AND REFRAIN ORDER AND ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTY 

 Corporations Code section 31406 provides: 
 

(a) If, upon inspection or investigation, based upon a complaint or otherwise, the 
commissioner has cause to believe that a person is violating any provision of this 
division or any rule or order promulgated pursuant to this division, the 
commissioner may issue a citation to that person in writing describing with 
particularity the basis of the citation. Each citation may contain an order to desist 
and refrain and an assessment of an administrative penalty not to exceed two 
thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) per violation and shall contain reference to 
this section, including the provisions of subdivision (c). All penalties collected 
under this section shall be deposited in the State Corporations Fund. 
(b) The sanctions authorized under this section shall be separate from, and in 
addition to, all other administrative, civil, or criminal remedies. 
(c) If within 60 days from the receipt of the citation, the person cited fails to 
notify the commissioner that the person intends to request a hearing as described  
in subdivision (d), the citation shall be deemed final. 
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(d) Any hearing under this section shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 
5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the 
Government Code. 
(e) After the exhaustion of the review procedures provided for in this section, the 
commissioner may apply to the appropriate superior court for a judgment in the 
amount of the administrative penalty and order compelling the cited person to 
comply with the order of the commissioner. The application shall include a 
certified copy of the final order of the commissioner and shall constitute a 
sufficient showing to warrant the issuance of the judgment and order. 

 
A. Violation One: Failure to Provide Current Franchise Disclosure Document  

Corporations Code section 31119 provides it is unlawful to sell any franchise in this state that 

is subject to registration under this law without first providing to the prospective franchisee, at least 

14 days prior to the execution by the prospective franchisee of any binding franchise or other 

agreement, or at least 14 days prior to the receipt of any consideration, whichever occurs first, a copy 

of the franchise disclosure document, together with a copy of the proposed agreements relating to the 

sale of the franchise. Here, Senior’s provided stale (2012 versions) of the UFDD and Membership 

Agreement to CW, rather than the most current (2013 versions) that were currently registered with 

the Commissioner. Therefore, the Commissioner has cause to believe that Senior’s violated 

Corporations Code section 31119. Pursuant to Corporations Code section 31406, Senior’s is hereby 

ordered to desist and refrain from offering and selling franchises in violation of section 31119. 

B. Violation Two: Sale of Unregistered, Non-Exempt Franchise 

Corporations Code section 31110 provides it is unlawful for any person to offer and sell any 

franchise in this state unless the offer of the franchise has been registered or is exempt from 

registration. Here, Senior’s offered and sold a franchise to CW on terms different from those 

registered with the Commissioner, when it reduced its initial franchise fee for CW (from $45,000.00 

to $25,000.00). Therefore, the Commissioner has cause to believe that Senior’s violated Corporations 

Code section 31110. Pursuant to Corporations Code section 31406, Senior’s is hereby ordered to 

desist and refrain from offering and selling franchises in violation of section 31110. 

C. Violation Three: Violation of Previous Desist and Refrain Order 

Corporations Code section 31406 provides that the Commissioner may include a desist and 

refrain order for a violation of any order. In 2007, Senior’s was subject to a desist and refrain order 
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prohibiting unregistered offers and sales of franchises. Here, Senior’s offered and sold an 

unregistered franchise to CW in violation of Corporations Code section 31110. Therefore, the 

Commissioner has cause to believe that Senior’s violated the 2007 desist and refrain order. Pursuant 

to Corporations Codes section 31406, Senior’s is hereby ordered to desist and refrain from offering 

and selling franchises in violation of that previous order. 

In addition, Senior’s is hereby assessed and ordered to pay an administrative penalty of seven 

thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500.00) based on the three separate violations described above. The 

administrative penalty shall be made payable by check to the Department of Business Oversight and 

submitted no later than thirty (30) days from the date this order is final to: Timothy L. Le Bas, Senior 

Counsel, Enforcement Division, 1515 K Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA  95814. 

III. 

REMEDIAL EDUCATION 

Subdivision (a) of Corporations Code section 31408 provides that if the Commissioner 

determines it is in the public interest, the Commissioner may include, in an administrative action, a 

requirement that the franchisor attend remedial education.  Accordingly, Senior’s is ordered to 

provide training to its directors, officers, and managers in the area of franchise compliance matters 

including, but not limited to, registration and disclosure. Proof of completion of that training shall be 

submitted no later than sixty (60) days from the date this order is final, by submitting that proof of 

completion to:  Timothy L. Le Bas, Senior Counsel, Enforcement Division, 1515 K Street, 

Sacramento, CA  95814.   

Dated: April 22, 2016   
   Sacramento, CA      JAN LYNN OWEN 
         Commissioner of Business Oversight 

     
 

                                                  By_____________________________ 
              MARY ANN SMITH 
                                                                     Deputy Commissioner 
              Enforcement Division  
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