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Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of: ) CRMLA LICENSE NO. 413-0924

THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS
OVERSIGHT, STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF
ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS

Complainant,
V.

METROPOLITAN HOME MORTGAGE,
INC., doing business as GW
MORTGAGE, INTELLILOAN,
STREAMLINE DIVISION and
WHOLESALE HOME LENDERS,

N N N N N N N N N N N N N N

Respondent.

The Complainant, the Commissioner of Business Oversight, is informed and believes, and
based upon such information and belief, alleges and charges as follows:

1. Respondent Metropolitan Home Mortgage, Inc., doing business as GW Mortgage,
Intelliloan, Streamline Division, and Wholesale Home Lenders ("MHM?”) is a residential mortgage
lender licensed by the Commissioner of Business Oversight (“Commissioner”), pursuant to the

California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (Cal. Fin. Code § 50000 et seq.) (“CRMLA”).
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2. MHM has its principal place of business located at 4 Park Plaza, Suite
800, Irvine, CA 92614.

3. The Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of MHM’s books and
records, on or about July 7, 2014.

4. The 2014 regulatory examination disclosed that in 9 out of 42 loans, or approximately
21% of the loan files reviewed, MHM was charging its borrowers per diem interest in excess of one
day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in violation of California
Financial Code section 50204, subdivisions (k) and (0), and California Civil Code section 2948.5.

5. The range of per diem interest overcharges was between $23.17 and $289.83. The

range of days of per diem interest overcharges was between 1 and 4 days.

6. Prior regulatory examinations conducted in 2009 and 2011 had revealed similar
violations.
7. The Commissioner had conducted a regulatory examination in March 2009, which had

revealed that in 10 out of 30 loans, or approximately 33% of the loan files reviewed, MHM was
charging the borrowers per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds
were disbursed from escrow, in violation of Section 50204, subdivisions (k) and (o), and California
Civil Code section 2948.5.

8. Based upon the findings of the 2009 examination and on or about August 24, 20009,
the Commissioner instructed MHM to perform a per diem interest self-audit review of all loans that
were originated since 2008, and to refund the amount of excess per diem interest charged to the
borrowers.

0. A regulatory examination conducted in October 2011 revealed that in 4 out of 30
loans, or approximately 13% of the loan files reviewed, MHM was charging the borrowers per diem
interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow, in
violation of Section 50204, subdivisions (k) and (0), and California Civil Code section 2948.5.

10. Based upon the 2011 examination findings and on or about April 3, 2012, the
Commissioner instructed MHM to refund the excess per diem interest charged to the borrowers.

I
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11. By reason of the foregoing, MHM has repeatedly violated Section 50204, subdivisions

(k) and (0), and California Civil Code section 2948.5.

12. Section 50321 provides in pertinent part:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonable grounds

to believe that any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or
any law or rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall, by written order
addressed to the licensee, direct the discontinuance of the violation. The
order shall be effective immediately, but shall not become final except
in accordance with the provisions of Section 50323.

(Cal. Fin. Code § 50321.)

13. Section 50323 provides:

(a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321or 50322 may become

final except after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's
intention to make the order final and of the reasons for the finding. The
commissioner shall also notify the licensee that upon receiving a

request the matter will be set for hearing to commence within 15 business
days after receipt. The licensee may consent to have the hearing
commenced at a later date. If no hearing is requested within 30 days

after the mailing or service of the required notice, and none is ordered

by the commissioner, the order may become final without hearing and

the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named in the
order. If a hearing is requested or ordered, it shall be held in accordance
with the provisions of the administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of
the Government Code), and the commissioner shall have all the powers
granted under that act. If, upon the hearing, it appears to the commissioner
that the licensee is conducting business in an unsafe and injurious manner
or is violating its articles of incorporation or any law of this state, or any
rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall make the order of discontinuance
final and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices named
in the order.

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to commence to
restrain enforcement of the order. If enforcement of the order is not
enjoined within 10 days by the court in which the action is brought,

the licensee shall comply with the order.

(Cal. Fin. Code § 50323.)

I
I
I

-3-

STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS




State of California - Department of Business Oversight

© 00 N oo o B~ W N P

N R R N N N N R N T ~ i = T e T i o i =
©® N o OB W N P O ©W © N o o b~ W N Rk o

WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner is issuing an Order to Discontinue
Violations, pursuant to Section 50321 and notifying Metropolitan Home Mortgage, Inc., doing
business as GW Mortgage, Intelliloan, Streamline Division, and Wholesale Home Lenders of her

intention to make the order final.

Dated: June 5, 2015 JAN LYNN OWEN
San Diego, California Commissioner of Business Oversight
By:

AFSANEH EGHBALDARI
Counsel
Enforcement Division
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