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BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT 

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 

In the Matter of: 
 
THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS 
OVERSIGHT, 
 
  Complainant, 
 
vs. 
 
 
AMERIFIRST FINANCIAL, INC. 
 
  Respondent.     

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

CRMLA LICENSE No. 413-0901 
 
 
ACCUSATION IN SUPPORT OF NOTICE OF 
INTENTION TO ISSUE ORDER 
SUSPENDING LICENSE AND LEVYING 
PENALTIES  
 
 
 
 

 
 Jan Lynn Owen, the Commissioner of Business Oversight (“Commissioner”), is informed and 

believes, and based upon such information and belief, alleges and charges Respondent as follows: 

I 

Jurisdiction and Venue 

1. The Commissioner brings this action under the provisions of Financial Code sections 

50513, subdivisions (a)(4), (b), and 50327, subdivision (a)(1), and the rules and regulations 

promulgated thereunder. 
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2. The Commissioner is authorized to administer and enforce the provisions of the California 

Residential Mortgage Lending Act (Fin. Code, § 50000 et seq.) (“CRMLA”) and the rules issued 

under title 10 of the California Code of Regulations (“CCR”) that regulate the business and activities 

of residential mortgage lenders. 

II 

Statement of Facts 

3. AmeriFirst Financial Inc. (“AmeriFirst”) is a residential mortgage lender licensed by the 

Commissioner under the CRMLA. AmeriFirst has its principal place of business located at 1550 East 

McKellips Road, Suite 117, Mesa, Arizona. At all relevant times herein, AmeriFirst employed 

mortgage loan originators and operated branch locations throughout California. 

 4. On or about May 19, 2014, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of the 

books and records of AmeriFirst at the company’s Mesa, Arizona office.  

 5. The regulatory examination disclosed that in 4 of the approximately 20 loan files reviewed, 

AmeriFirst was overcharging borrowers’ per diem interest in excess of 1 day prior to disbursement of 

loan proceeds in violation of Financial Code section 50204, subdivisions (k) and (o), and section 

2948.5 of the Civil Code. The range of per diem interest overcharges was between $64.49 and 

$83.38. AmeriFirst overcharged borrowers between 1 to 3 days of interest. The per diem interest 

overcharges are repeat violations by AmeriFirst that were previously discovered during the 

Commissioner’s February 27, 2012 examination of the company. 

 6. The 2014 examination also disclosed that AmeriFirst had overcharged credit report fees in 

at least 3 loan files in violation of Financial Code section 50204, subdivisions (c), (i), (k) and CCR 

section 1950.314.4, subdivision (j). 

 7. Finally, AmeriFirst’s YouTube advertisement failed to state that the California Department 

of Business Oversight licenses the business in violation of CCR section 1950.204.3, subdivision (b). 

/ / / 

/ / / 

/ / / 
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III 

Applicable Statutes 

 8. Business and Professions Code section 17200 provides: 

As used in this chapter, unfair competition shall mean and include any 
unlawful, unfair or fraudulent business act or practice and unfair, 
deceptive, untrue or misleading advertising and any act prohibited by 
Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 17500) of Part 3 of Division 7 of 
the Business and Professions Code.  
 

 9. Business and Professions Code section 17500 provides in pertinent part: 

It is unlawful for any person, firm, corporation or association, or any 
employee thereof with intent directly or indirectly to dispose of real or 
personal property or to perform services, professional or otherwise, or 
anything of any nature whatsoever or to induce the public to enter into 
any obligation relating thereto, to make or disseminate or cause to be 
made or disseminated before the public in this state, or to make or 
disseminate or cause to be made or disseminated from this state before 
the public in any state, in any newspaper or other publication, or any 
advertising device, or by public outcry or proclamation, or in any other 
manner or means whatever, including over the Internet, any statement, 
concerning that real or personal property or those services, professional 
or otherwise, or concerning any circumstance or matter of fact 
connected with the proposed performance or disposition thereof, which 
is untrue or misleading, and which is known, or which by the exercise 
of reasonable care should be known, to be untrue or misleading, or for 
any person, firm, or corporation to so make or disseminate or cause to 
be so made or disseminated any such statement as part of a plan or 
scheme with the intent not to sell that personal property or those 
services, professional or otherwise, so advertised at the price stated 
therein, or as so advertised. . . . 
 

 10. Civil Code section 2948.5 provides: 

(a) A borrower shall not be required to pay interest on a principal 
obligation under a promissory note secured by a mortgage or deed of 
trust on real property improved with between one to four residential 
dwelling units for any period that meets any of the following 
requirements: 
 
(1) Is more than one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds are 
disbursed from escrow. 
 
(2) In the event of no escrow, if a request for recording is made in 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=762c2c5f010dd707c9e32a95e08fa738&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Bus%20%26%20Prof%20Code%20%a7%2017200%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20BUS%20PROF%2017500&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=77b8a4176d6119f695f3f7f83e52d8c5
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=762c2c5f010dd707c9e32a95e08fa738&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Bus%20%26%20Prof%20Code%20%a7%2017200%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20BUS%20PROF%2017500&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=77b8a4176d6119f695f3f7f83e52d8c5
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connection with the disbursement, is more than one day prior to the 
date the loan proceeds are disbursed to the borrower, to a third party on 
behalf of the borrower, or to the lender to satisfy an existing obligation 
of the borrower. 
 
(3) In all other circumstances where there is no escrow and no request 
for recording, is prior to the date funds are disbursed to the borrower, to 
a third party on behalf of the borrower, or to the lender to satisfy an 
existing obligation of the borrower. 
 
(b) Interest may commence to accrue on the business day immediately 
preceding the day of disbursement, for obligations described in 
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a) if both of the following occur: 
 
(1) The borrower affirmatively requests, and the lender agrees, that the 
disbursement will occur on Monday, or a day immediately following a 
bank holiday. 
 
(2) The following information is disclosed to the borrower in writing: 
(A) the amount of additional per diem interest charged to facilitate 
disbursement on Monday or the day following a holiday, as the case 
may be, and (B) that it may be possible to avoid the additional per diem 
interest charge by disbursing the loan proceeds on a day immediately 
following a business day. This disclosure shall be provided to the 
borrower and acknowledged by the borrower by signing a copy of the 
disclosure document prior to placing funds in escrow. 
 
(c) This section does not apply to a loan that is subject to subdivision 
(c) of Section 10242 of the Business and Professions Code. 
 

11. Financial Code section 50204 provides in pertinent part: 

A licensee may not do any of the following: 
 
(c) Accept fees at closing that are not disclosed to the borrower on the 
federal HUD-1 Settlement Statement. 
 

. . . 
(i) Engage in acts in violation of Section 17200 or 17500 of the 
Business and Professions Code 
 

. . . 
(k) Do an act, whether of the same or a different character than 
specified in this section, that constitutes fraud or dishonest dealings. 
 

.  . . 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=22809748b71c13e91c21f40c605414f3&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Civ%20Code%20%a7%202948.5%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=2&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20BUS%20PROF%2010242&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=5bce7633103d7d199d8e25edf1a2e5c0
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(o) Commit an act in violation of Section 2948.5 of the Civil Code. 
Evidence of compliance with Section 2948.5 of the Civil Code may be 
evidenced by (1) a certification executed by the licensee, at no cost to 
the borrower, pursuant to Section 2015.5 of the Code of Civil 
Procedure, or (2) other evidence in the loan file acceptable to the 
commissioner. 
 

12. Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part: 

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to  
be heard, deny, decline to renew, suspend, or revoke any license, if the 
commissioner finds that:  
 
(1) The licensee has violated any provision of this division or rule or 
order of the commissioner thereunder. 
 

13. Financial Code section 50513 provides in pertinent part: 

(a) The commissioner may do one or more of the following: 
 
(4) Impose fines on a mortgage loan originator or any residential 
mortgage lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan 
originator pursuant to subdivisions (b), (c), and (d). 
 

.  .  . 
(b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty on a mortgage loan 
originator or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee 
employing a mortgage loan originator, if the commissioner finds, on 
the record after notice and opportunity for hearing, that the mortgage 
loan originator or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee 
employing a mortgage loan originator has violated or failed to comply 
with any requirement of this division or any regulation prescribed by 
the commissioner under this division or order issued under authority of 
this division. 
 
(c) The maximum amount of penalty for each act or omission described 
in subdivision (b) shall be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 
 
(d) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or 
order of the commissioner is a separate and distinct violation or 
failure. 
 

 14. CCR section 1950.204.3, subdivision (b) provides: 

(b) A residential mortgage lender, mortgage servicer, residential 
mortgage lender and servicer, or mortgage loan originator shall refer to 

http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=5ece317b3aaf66cdb7f5ac11ac0d6ca4&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Fin%20Code%20%a7%2050204%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=5&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20CIV%202948.5&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=bf031c8d691a3c1d1115f89204691a89
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=5ece317b3aaf66cdb7f5ac11ac0d6ca4&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Fin%20Code%20%a7%2050204%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=6&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20CIV%202948.5&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=b4aec98e11adabe7f879c73aeed5d0c5
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=5ece317b3aaf66cdb7f5ac11ac0d6ca4&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Fin%20Code%20%a7%2050204%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=7&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20CIV%20PROC%202015.5&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=99cf75f31a7cc66129ce354f4bd8fa87
http://www.lexis.com/research/buttonTFLink?_m=5ece317b3aaf66cdb7f5ac11ac0d6ca4&_xfercite=%3ccite%20cc%3d%22USA%22%3e%3c%21%5bCDATA%5bCal%20Fin%20Code%20%a7%2050204%5d%5d%3e%3c%2fcite%3e&_butType=4&_butStat=0&_butNum=7&_butInline=1&_butinfo=CA%20CIV%20PROC%202015.5&_fmtstr=FULL&docnum=1&_startdoc=1&wchp=dGLzVzt-zSkAl&_md5=99cf75f31a7cc66129ce354f4bd8fa87
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its licensure under the [CRMLA] in any written or printed 
communication or any communication by means of recorded telephone 
messages, telephonic or electronic media, or spoken on radio, television 
or similar communications media, only by the following statement: 
"Licensed by the Department of Business Oversight under the 
California Residential Mortgage Lending Act." 
 

 15. CCR section 1950.314.4, subdivision (j) provides: 

All licensees shall maintain a record keeping system which shall 
demonstrate the following fees if charged to the mortgage applicant by, 
the licensee: 
 
(1) Appraisal fees; 
 
(2) Credit report fees; 
 
(3) Application fees; 
 
(4) Commitment fees; 
 
(5) Warehouse fees; and 
 
(6) Third party charges. 
 

IV 

Prayer 

The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, AmeriFirst has violated Financial 

Code sections 50204, subdivisions (c), (i), (k), and (o), and California Code of Regulations, title 10, 

sections 1950.204.3, subdivision (b), and 1950.314.4, subdivision (j), of the CRMLA. For the 

foregoing reasons, grounds exist to: 

(1) suspend AmeriFirst’s CRMLA residential mortgage lender license; and  

(2) levy penalties against AmeriFirst under to Financial Code section 50513, subdivisions 

 (a)(4) and (b). 

/ / / 

/ / / 

/ / / 
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WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that: 

1. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50327, the residential mortgage lender license of 

AmeriFirst be suspended for a period of up to 12 months; 

2. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50513, subdivisions (a)(4) and (b), penalties be 

levied against AmeriFirst for four violations of Financial Code section 50204, subdivisions (k) and 

(o), and section 2948.5 of the Civil Code, as AmeriFirst overcharged borrowers’ per diem interest, in 

an amount of at least $1,000 per violation, for a total amount of penalties of at least $4,000, or 

according to proof;  

3. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50513, subdivisions (a)(4) and (b), penalties be 

levied against AmeriFirst for overcharging customers credit report fees, in violation of Financial 

Code section 50204, subdivisions (c), (i), (k) and CCR section 1950.314.4, subdivision (j), in an 

amount of at least $1,000 per violation, for a total amount of penalties of at least $3,000, or according 

to proof; and 

4. Pursuant to Financial Code section 5013, subdivisions (a)(4) and (b), penalties be 

levied against AmeriFirst for failing to state in its advertisement that it was licensed by the California 

Department of Business Oversight, in violation of CCR section 1950.204.3, subdivision (b), in an 

amount of at least $1,000, or according to proof. 

Dated: March 12, 2015     
   Los Angeles, CA      JAN LYNN OWEN 
         Commissioner of Business Oversight 
       
 
         By_____________________________ 
              Blaine A. Noblett 
                                                                     Senior Counsel  
                                                                     Enforcement Division 
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