State of California - Department of Business Oversight

O© o0 I N n B~ WD =

N NN NN N N N N e e e e e e e e
o BN B Y B N U R O R = o R S =) TV, B SN UV e S =)

MARY ANN SMITH

Deputy Commissioner

SEAN ROONEY

Assistant Chief Counsel
JOHNNY VUONG (State Bar No. 249570)
Senior Counsel

Department of Business Oversight
320 W. 4th Street, Suite 750

Los Angeles, California 90013
Telephone: (213) 576-7585
Facsimile: (213) 576-7181
Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of:

THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS
OVERSIGHT,
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V.
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CRMLA LICENSE No. 417-0013

STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF
ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATION

PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL

CODE SECTION 50321 AND NOTICE OF
INTENTION TO MAKE ORDER FINAL

The Commissioner of Business Oversight (“Commissioner’) finds that:

1. Academy Mortgage Corporation (“Academy”) is a residential mortgage lender

licensed by the Commissioner pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage Lending Act

(“CRMLA”) (California Financial Code section 50000 et seq.), under license number 417-0013.

Academy has its principal place of business located at 1220 East 7800 South, Sandy, Utah 84094.
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2. On or about June 5, 2012, the Commissioner commenced a regulatory examination of
the books and records of Academy under the CRMLA (“2012 regulatory examination”). The 2012
regulatory examination disclosed that in 6 of the 47 funded loans reviewed, or approximately 13
percent of the loans reviewed, Academy charged the borrower per diem interest in excess of one day
prior to disbursement of loan proceeds, in violation of Financial Code section 50204, subdivision (0).
The range of per diem interest overcharges was between $25.19 and $214.86. Academy overcharged
borrowers between two and six days of interest. The per diem interest overcharges are repeat
violations by Academy that were discovered in prior regulatory examinations conducted by the
Commissioner.

3. The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Academy has violated
Financial Code section 50204, subdivision (o).

4. Financial Code section 50321 provides in pertinent part:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonable grounds to
believe that any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or
any law or rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall, by written
order addressed to the licensee, direct the discontinuance of the
violation. The order shall be effective immediately, but shall not
become final except in accordance with the provisions of Section
50323.

5. Financial Code section 50323 provides in pertinent part:

(a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321 or 50322 may become
final except after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's
intention to make the order final and of the reasons for the finding. The
commissioner shall also notify the licensee that upon receiving a
request the matter will be set for hearing to commence within 15
business days after receipt. The licensee may consent to have the
hearing commenced at a later date. If no hearing is requested within 30
days after the mailing or service of the required notice, and none is
ordered by the commissioner, the order may become final without
hearing and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices
named in the order. If a hearing is requested or ordered, it shall be held
in accordance with the provisions of the administrative Procedure Act
(Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3
of Title 2 of the Government Code), and the commissioner shall have
all the powers granted under that act. If, upon the hearing, it appears to
the commissioner that the licensee is conducting business in an unsafe
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and injurious manner or is violating its articles of incorporation or any
law of this state, or any rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall
make the order of discontinuance final and the licensee shall
immediately discontinue the practices named in the order.

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to
commence to restrain enforcement of the order. If enforcement of the
order is not enjoined within 10 days by the court in which the action is
brought, the licensee shall comply with the order.

WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner is issuing an Order to Discontinue
Violations pursuant to Financial Code Section 50321 and notifying Academy of her intention to make

the order final.

Dated: August 6, 2015
Los Angeles, California
JAN LYNN OWEN
Commissioner of Business Oversight

By:

JOHNNY VUONG
Senior Counsel
Enforcement Division
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