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Attorneys for Complainant
BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

GOLDEN EMPIRE MORTGAGE, INC.,

In the Matter of the Accusation of ) File No. 413-0360
THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS ) NMLS ID No. 2427
OVERSIGHT OF THE STATE OF )
ACCUSATION IN SUPPORT OF NOTICE OF
CALIFORNIA, )
) INTENT TO ISSUE ORDER SUSPENDING
Complainant, ) LICENSE AND IMPOSING PENALTIES
)
Vs. )
)
)
)
)

Respondent.

The Complainant is informed and believes and, based upon such information and belief,
alleges and charges the Respondent as follows:
|
Golden Empire Mortgage, Inc. (“Respondent” or “GEM?”) is a residential mortgage lender
and loan servicer licensed since March 22, 2001 by the California Commissioner of Business
Oversight (“Commissioner” or “Complainant”)* pursuant to the California Residential Mortgage
Lending Act (“CRMLA”) (California Financial Code sections 50000 et seq.). Respondent has its

principal place of business located at 1200 Discovery Drive, Suite 300, Bakersfield, California,
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93309. Respondent also has multiple branch offices in California doing business under other
names. Respondent employs mortgage loan originators.

On or about October 19, 2009, the Department commenced a regulatory examination of
Respondent’s books and records pursuant to Financial Code section 50302 (2009 exam™). As a
result of the 2009 exam, the Department discovered that in seven out of 32 loans funded through
October 2009, or approximately 21percent of the loans reviewed, Respondent had charged the
borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were
disbursed from escrow in violation of section 50204(0) of the Financial Code and section 2948.5 of
the Civil Code. The amount of per diem interest overcharged per borrower was between $9.65 and
$301.84. The range of days in which interest was overcharged was between one and six.

On or about April 12, 2010, the Department issued a regulatory examination report to
Respondent summarizing the various violations found during the 2009 exam (“2009 exam report”).
Respondent was instructed to submit a written response to the Department within 30 calendar days
with evidence that the cited violations had been corrected. Additionally, Respondent was directed to
make refunds of amounts overcharged plus interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum to the seven
overcharged California borrowers identified in the report pursuant to Financial Code section 50504,
The letter advised that all refunds made to borrowers must be accompanied by the following
statement:

AS A RESULT OF AN EXAMINATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF
CORPORATIONS, A REFUND OR ADJUSTMENT IN THE AMOUNT OF
$XXX IS BEING MADE FOR YOUR BENEFIT. IF YOU HAVE ANY
QUESTIONS CONCERNING THIS REFUND, PLEASE CONTACT (lender)
AT (800) XXX-XXXX.

Concerning the Department’s findings of excessive per diem interest charged by

Respondent, the 2009 exam report advised:

Iy

! As of July 1, 2013, the Department of Corporations and the Department of Financial Institutions merged to form the
Department of Business Oversight.
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These overcharges represent a repeat violation from our previous examination and
therefore create significant regulatory concern.? Please indicate the measures
taken to prevent any recurrences of this violation.

On or about May 20, 2010, Respondent replied that because it had a review system in place,
it believed that the Department’s finding of excessive per diem overcharges for some of the loans
was “not due to a weakness in GEM’s current process to monitor this area.” Nonetheless,
Respondent informed it would make refunds to the seven overcharged borrowers identified in the
2009 exam report.

On or about September 28, 2010, the Department informed Respondent that it had not
provided evidence to the Department that it had made sufficient refunds and/or interest payments to
all identified borrowers, as instructed by the 2009 regulatory exam report. Additionally, Respondent
had failed to include the required consumer notice in its refund letters to borrowers. Concerning the
excessive per diem interest charges discovered in the 2009 examination, the Department further
advised:

Although your company has a review process in place to review and refund any
overcharges noted on per diem interest overcharges, there are still overcharges
being made. Some loans are being overlooked in the review process and in some
of the loans your company has reviewed, the refunds were being calculated
improperly, causing the borrower to be overcharged. Therefore, this matter
remains a significant regulatory concern.

On or about August 8, 2012, the Department commenced another regulatory examination of
Respondent’s books and records pursuant to Financial Code section 50302 (2012 exam”). As a
result of the 2012 exam, the Department discovered that in seven out of 30 loans funded during the
period of October 2011 to May 2012, or approximately 23 percent of the loans reviewed,
Respondent had charged the borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the
loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow in violation of section 50204(0) of the Financial Code

and section 2948.5 of the Civil Code. The amount of per diem interest overcharged per borrower

2 In a prior examination in April 2008, the Department found that Respondent had overcharged or understated the per
diem interest in 10 percent of loans reviewed.
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was between $12.05 and $392.39. The range of days in which interest was overcharged was
between one and five.

On or about September 24, 2013, the Department issued a regulatory examination report to
Respondent summarizing the various violations found during the 2012 exam (“2012 exam report”).
Respondent was instructed to submit a written response to the Department within 30 days describing
the corrective actions implemented to address the violations cited. In regard to the Department’s
findings of excessive per diem interest charges, the 2012 exam report directed Respondent to
conduct an internal audit as follows:

Due to the high percentage of per diem interest overcharged (seven out of thirty
loans reviewed or 23%), you are instructed to review all loans funded since
October 2009 to the current date to determine the number and amount of
overcharges collected from borrowers.

As part of its internal review, Respondent was instructed to provide a detailed self-audit
report of the files reviewed and the dollar amount of the overcharges established through the review
of its originated loans, including, but not be limited to, the loan number, borrower’s name, loan
amount, interest rate, date disbursed, date started collecting interest, interest overcharged and date
refunded.

Further, the Department ordered Respondent to make refunds of excess amounts plus interest
at the rate of 10 percent per annum to all overcharged California borrowers, including but not limited
to the seven loans identified in the 2012 exam report, pursuant to Financial Code section 50504.

Additionally, Respondent was instructed to submit a written report to the Department within
30 calendar days describing in detail the actions taken to correct the violations of Financial Code
section 50204. Specifically, paragraph 3 of the 2012 exam report stated:

Failure to submit a sufficient report may result in a special examination by the
Department for which you will be required to pay the cost. Please indicate the
corrective action taken to prevent a recurrence of this violation.

This is a repeat violation; consequently, this matter is being referred to the Special
Administrator for administrative action.

On or about October 23, 2013, Respondent submitted a written response to the 2012 exam

report advising that it disagreed with several of the Department’s findings of per diem interest
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overcharges. Respondent informed the Department that it had utilized the HUD?® guidelines for
calculating collection of interest from the date the lender disburses loan proceeds instead of the
method mandated by the CRMLA which permits the lender to charge interest for only one day prior
to the date that the loan proceeds are disbursed from escrow. As such, Respondent questioned the
necessity to comply with the Department’s instruction to issue all of the refunds that had been
identified in the 2012 exam report.

Additionally, in its written response to the Department dated October 23, 2013, Respondent
informed that since it relied upon the HUD guidelines instead of the CRMLA, it had observed fewer
per diem calculation errors than those found by the Department. Accordingly, Respondent requested
that the Department “rescind the requirement for GEM to review all loans from October 2009
onward and reconsider any reference to a Special Administrator.”

On April 9, 2014, the Department sent Respondent a letter demanding that the self-audit
report requested in the 2012 exam report be submitted within 10 days. This letter further advised:

Your response indicated that the company considers that the day funds are wired
to the escrow/settlement agent to be the day that the company disburses and
relinquishes control of the funds; therefore the funding day is utilized to calculate
the per diem interest charge ....

The Department considers the date funds were disbursed by the settlement agent
to and/or on behalf of the borrower as the disbursement date. Please refer to the
Commissioner’s Release 58-FS which is located on the Department’s website ...
The funding date as stated in your response is not an acceptable date to determine
the date of funds disbursement. The company’s request for the Department to
rescind its request for review all loans originated since October 2009 to present is
denied.

On April 18, 2014, Respondent sent a letter to the Department restating its plea for a waiver
of the requirement to conduct a self-audit of all loans funded from the period of October 2009 to
present.

On or about April 28, 2014, the Department again advised Respondent that its request

remained denied and that the self-audit report remains overdue.

3 The Department of Housing and Urban Development.
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To date, Respondent has failed to submit to the Department the self-audit report that was due
within 30 calendar days of the 2012 exam report, and no later than 10 days from the Department’s
written demand dated April 9, 2014. Respondent’s refusal to make refunds in accordance with the
instructions set forth in the 2012 exam report has resulted in known per diem interest overcharges to
at least seven California borrowers. Moreover, the refunds that Respondent did issue to some
borrowers either lacked required consumer notices and/or were made subsequent to receiving notice
of the Department’s regulatory examinations or well after the date that the loans had closed, which
ranged between five and 210 days.

1]

By reason of the foregoing, Respondent has engaged in charging California borrowers interest
on loans for a period in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds are disbursed from
escrow in at least seven loans funded during the period of October 2011 to present, in violation of
Financial Code section 50204(0), and failing to disclose the amount of such additional interest as
required by Civil Code section 2948.5.

A. Failure to Make Refunds Pursuant to Financial Code Section 50504

Financial Code section 50504, subdivision (b) states:

(b) If interest on the principal amount of a loan in excess of the amount authorized
by this division is willfully charged, contracted for, or received, in addition to any
other penalties or remedies, the commissioner may order the licensee to refund
the excess interest amount to all borrowers charged the excess amount, with
interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum, calculated from the date the improper
charge was imposed.

“Willful conduct does not require a purpose or specific intent to bring about a result.
However, it does require more than negligence or accidental conduct . .. The word “willfully’
when applied to the intent with which an act is done or omitted means with a purpose or willingness
to commit the act or to make the omission in question.” Patarak v. Williams (2001) 91 Cal.App.4th
826, 829-830.

Respondent continues to willfully overcharge borrowers per diem interest in violation of

Financial Code section 50204(0) and Civil Code section 2948.5 and refuses to make appropriate
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refunds. Hence, Respondent’s continued overcharging of per diem interest is not negligent or
accidental but demonstrates a purpose or willingness to act or make the omission in question,
namely continually failing to address the violations brought to its attention by the Department.
Therefore, Respondent should refund the excess interest amount with interest at the rate of 10
percent per annum pursuant to Financial Code section 50504(b).

B. Failure to Submit Report to Commissioner

Financial Code section 50326 provides in pertinent part:

If any licensee fails to do any of the following, the licensee shall forfeit to the
people of the state a sum of up to one hundred dollars ($100) for every day up to
the 10th day: (a) to make any report required by law or by the commissioner
within 10 days from the day designated for the making of the report, or within any
extension of time granted by the commissioner, or (b) fails to include therein any
matter required by law or by the commissioner. Thereafter, any failure shall
constitute grounds for the suspension or revocation of the license held by the
residential mortgage lender or residential mortgage loan servicer.

Because Respondent has failed to submit the self-audit report by the time required by the
Commissioner, Respondent shall forfeit to the People of the State a sum of up to one hundred
dollars ($100) for every day up to the 10th day pursuant to Financial Code section 50326.

AV

The violations of the CRMLA described above, if committed by Respondent on or before
having originally sought a license from the Department under the CRMLA, would have constituted
grounds for the Commissioner to deny the application of Respondent under Financial Code section
50327. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50327, the Commissioner may suspend any CRMLA
license if “a fact or condition exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original application for
the license, reasonably would have warranted the commissioner in refusing to issue the license
originally.” Pursuant to Financial Code section 50327, the Commissioner may refuse to issue a
license if the “applicant . . . has violated any provision of this division or the rules thereunder or any
similar regulatory scheme of the State of California. ...”

Financial Code section 50327 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to be heard,
suspend or revoke any license, if the commissioner finds that: (1) the licensee has
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violated any provision of this division or rule or order of the commissioner

thereunder; or (2) any fact or condition exists that, if it had existed at the time of

the original application for license, reasonably would have warranted the

commissioner in refusing to issue the license originally.

Thus, by virtue of any of the violations of the CRMLA set forth above, a fact or condition
now exists that, if it had existed at the time of the original application of Respondent for a license
under the CRMLA, reasonably would have warranted the Commissioner in refusing to issue the
license.

\Y
Financial Code section 50513 provides in pertinent part:

(a) The commissioner may do one or more of the following:

(4) Impose fines on a mortgage loan originator or any residential mortgage lender
or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator pursuant to
subdivisions (b), (c), and (d).

(b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty on a mortgage loan originator
or any residential mortgage lender or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan
originator, if the commissioner finds, on the record after notice and opportunity
for hearing, that the mortgage loan originator or any residential mortgage lender
or servicer licensee employing a mortgage loan originator has violated or failed to
comply with any requirement of this division or any regulation prescribed by the
commissioner under this division or order issued under authority of this division.

(c) The maximum amount of penalty for each act or omission described in
subdivision (b) shall be twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

(d) Each violation or failure to comply with any directive or order of the
commissioner is a separate and distinct violation or failure.

Vi

The Commissioner finds that, by reason of the foregoing, Respondent has violated Financial
Code sections 50204 and 50326 and Civil Code section 2948.5. Furthermore, based upon

Respondent’s violations of the CRMLA, a fact or condition now exists, that if it had existed at the
time of original licensure under the CRMLA, reasonably would have warranted the Commissioner

in refusing to issue a CRMLA license to Respondent. For all the foregoing reasons, grounds exist
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to: (1) Suspend Respondent’s CRMLA residential mortgage lender and servicer license; and, (2)
Levy penalties against Respondent pursuant to Financial Code sections 50326 and 50513.

WHEREFORE, IT IS PRAYED that:

1. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50327, the residential mortgage lender and
servicer license of Respondent be suspended, for the greater period of:

a. 12 months; or,

b.  Until (i) Respondent has submitted a complete self-audit report providing all
the information demanded by the Commissioner on or about September 24, 2013; (ii) the complete
self-audit report has been determined by the Commissioner to be trustworthy; and (iii) Respondent
has complied fully with the Order to Refund Excessive Per Diem Interest Charges Pursuant to
Financial Code Section 50504.

2. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50326, a penalty be levied against Respondent
for failure to make any report required by law or by the Commissioner within 10 days from the day
designated for the making of the report, or within any extension of time granted by the
Commissioner, or failure to include therein any matter required by law or by the Commissioner, in
an amount of at least $1,000, or according to proof.

3. Pursuant to Financial Code section 50513(b), penalties be levied against Respondent
for at least seven (7) known violations of Financial Code section 50204(0), whereby Respondent
overcharged borrowers per diem interest on loans funded during the period from October 2009 to
the present, in an amount of $2,500 per violation, for a sum of at least $17,500.00, or more to be
determined by the Commissioner upon receipt of a reliable audit report, or according to proof.

For a total amount of penalties of at least $17,500.00, or according to proof.

Dated: May 29, 2014 JAN LYNN OWEN
Sacramento, CA Commissioner of Business Oversight
By

Miranda LeKander
Senior Corporations Counsel
Enforcement Division
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MARY ANN SMITH
Deputy Commissioner

DOUGLAS M. GOODING

Assistant Chief Counsel

MIRANDA LEKANDER (SBN 210082)
Senior Corporations Counsel

1515 K Street, Suite 200

Sacramento, CA 95814
Tel: (916) 322-8730
Fax: (916) 445-6985

Attorneys for Complainant
BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

In the Matter of THE COMMISSIONER OF ) File No. 413-0360
BUSINESS OVERSIGHT OF THE STATE OF ) NMLSID. 2427

CALIFORNIA, )
) ORDER TO:

(1) REFUND EXCESSIVE PER DIEM
INTEREST CHARGES PURSUANT
TO CALIFORNIA FINANCIAL CODE
SECTION 50504,

(2) DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS
PURSUANT TO CALIFORNIA
FINANCIAL CODE SECTION 50321

Complainant,
VS.
GOLDEN EMPIRE MORTGAGE, INC.,

Respondent.

N N N N N N N N N

TO: GOLDEN EMPIRE MORTGAGE, INC.
1200 Discovery Drive, Suite 300
Bakersfield, California 93309

The Commissioner of Business Oversight (“Commissioner”)* finds that Golden Empire
Mortgage, Inc. has:

Q) Charged California borrowers interest on loans for a period in excess of one day prior

! As of July 1, 2013, the Department of Corporations and the Department of Financial Institutions merged to form the
Department of Business Oversight.
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)

NOW BASED ON THE FOREGOING, AND GOOD CAUSE APPEARING, and pursuant to

to the date that the loan proceeds are disbursed from escrow in at least seven of 30
loans, or 23% of the loans reviewed, in violation of California Financial Code section
50204(0) and California Civil Code section 2948.5; and,

Failed to make a special report to the Commissioner, specifically a self-audit report
regarding per diem interest overcharges by the deadline of 30 calendar days from
September 24, 2013, and within 10 days of April 9, 2014, in violation of California
Financial Code section 50314(b).

the provisions of California Financial Code sections 50504(b) and 50321, Golden Empire Mortgage,
Inc. is hereby ORDERED TO:

(1) Refund to all California borrowers charged excessive per diem interest the amount of the

excessive per diem interest along with interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum

calculated from the date the excessive per diem interest was imposed; and,

(2) Immediately discontinue the violations set forth above.

Dated: May 29, 2014

Sacramento, CA JAN LYNN OWEN

Commissioner of Business Oversight

By

Mary Ann Smith
Deputy Commissioner
Enforcement Division
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MARY ANN SMITH
Deputy Commissioner

DOUGLAS M. GOODING

Assistant Chief Counsel

MIRANDA LEKANDER (SBN 210082)
Senior Corporations Counsel

1515 K Street, Suite 200

Sacramento, CA 95814
Tel: (916) 322-8730

Fax: (916) 445-6985
Attorneys for Complainant

BEFORE THE DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS OVERSIGHT
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

File No. 413-0360
NMLS ID. 2427

In the Matter of
THE COMMISSIONER OF BUSINESS
OVERSIGHT OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA, STATEMENT OF FACTS IN SUPPORT OF
ORDER TO DISCONTINUE VIOLATIONS
Complainant, PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE
v SECTION 50321 AND REFUND EXCESSIVE

PER DIEM INTEREST CHARGES
PURSUANT TO FINANCIAL CODE
SECTION 50504 AND NOTICE OF INTENT
TO MAKE ORDER FINAL

GOLDEN EMPIRE MORTGAGE, INC.,

Respondent.

e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e’

TO: GOLDEN EMPIRE MORTGAGE, INC.
1200 Discovery Drive, Suite 300
Bakersfield, California 93309

The Commissioner of Business Oversight of the State of California finds that:
At all relevant times, Golden Empire Mortgage, Inc. (“Respondent” or “GEM”) was a

residential mortgage lender and loan servicer licensed since March 22, 2001 by the Commissioner of
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Business Oversight of the State of California (“Commissioner” or “Complainant”)® pursuant to the
California Residential Mortgage Lending Act (“CRMLA”) (California Financial Code sections
50000 et seq.). Respondent has its principal place of business located at 1200 Discovery Drive,
Suite 300, Bakersfield, California, 93309. Respondent also has multiple branch offices in California
doing business under other names. Respondent employs mortgage loan originators.

On or about October 19, 2009, the Department commenced a regulatory examination of
Respondent’s books and records pursuant to Financial Code section 50302 (“2009 exam”). As a
result of the 2009 exam, the Department discovered that in seven out of 32 loans funded through
October 2009, or approximately 21 percent of the loans reviewed, Respondent charged the borrower
per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from
escrow, in violation of section 50204(0) of the Financial Code and section 2948.5 of the Civil Code.
The amount of per diem interest overcharged per borrower was between $9.65 and $301.84. The
range of days in which interest was overcharged was between one and six.

On or about April 12, 2010, the Department issued a regulatory examination report to
Respondent summarizing the various violations found during the 2009 exam (*2009 exam report”).
Respondent was instructed to submit a written response to the Department within 30 calendar days
with evidence that the cited violations had been corrected. Additionally, Respondent was directed to
make refunds of amounts overcharged plus interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum to the seven
overcharged California borrowers identified in the report pursuant to Financial Code section 50504.
The letter advised that all refunds made to borrowers must be accompanied by the following
statement:

AS A RESULT OF AN EXAMINATION BY THE DEPARTMENT OF
CORPORATIONS, A REFUND OR ADJUSTMENT IN THE AMOUNT OF
$XXX IS BEING MADE FOR YOUR BENEFIT. IF YOU HAVE ANY
QUESTIONS CONCERNING THIS REFUND, PLEASE CONTACT (lender)
AT (800) XXX-XXXX.

Iy

! As of July 1, 2013, the Department of Corporations and the Department of Financial Institutions merged to form the
Department of Business Oversight.
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Concerning the Department’s findings of excessive per diem interest charged by Respondent,
the 2009 exam report advised:

These overcharges represent a repeat violation from our previous examination and
therefore create significant regulatory concern.? Please indicate the measures
taken to prevent any recurrences of this violation.

On or about May 20, 2010, Respondent replied that since it had a review process in place, it
believed that the Department’s finding of excessive per diem overcharges for some of the loans was
“not due to a weakness in GEM’s current process to monitor this area.” Nonetheless, Respondent
informed it would make refunds to the seven overcharged borrowers identified by the 2009 exam
report.

On or about September 28, 2010, the Department informed Respondent that it had not
provided evidence to the Department that it had made sufficient refunds and/or interest payments to
all identified borrowers, as instructed by the 2009 regulatory exam report. Additionally, Respondent
had failed to include the required consumer notice in its refund letters to borrowers. Concerning the
excessive per diem interest charges discovered in the 2009 examination, the Department further
advised:

Although your company has a review process in place to review and refund any
overcharges noted on per diem interest overcharges, there are still overcharges
being made. Some loans are being overlooked in the review process and in some
of the loans your company has reviewed, the refunds were being calculated
improperly, causing the borrower to be overcharged. Therefore, this matter
remains a significant regulatory concern.

On or about August 8, 2012, the Department commenced another regulatory examination of
Respondent’s books and records pursuant to Financial Code section 50302 (“2012 exam”). As a
result of the 2012 exam, the Department discovered that in seven out of 30 loans funded during the
period of October 2011 to May 2012, or approximately 23 percent of the loans reviewed, Respondent
charged the borrower per diem interest in excess of one day prior to the date that the loan proceeds

were disbursed from escrow in violation of section 50204(0) of the Financial Code and section

2 In a prior examination in April 2008, the Department found that Respondent had overcharged or understated the per
diem interest in 10 percent of loans reviewed.
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2948.5 of the Civil Code. The amount of per diem interest overcharged per borrower was between
$12.05 and $392.39. The range of days in which interest was overcharged was between one and five.

On or about September 24, 2013, the Department issued a regulatory examination report to
Respondent summarizing the various violations found during the 2012 exam (“2012 exam report”).
Respondent was instructed to submit a written response to the Department within 30 days describing
the corrective actions implemented to address the violations cited. In regard to the Department’s
findings of excessive per diem interest charges, the 2012 exam letter directed Respondent to conduct
an internal audit as follows:

Due to the high percentage of per diem interest overcharged (seven out of thirty
loans reviewed or 23%), you are instructed to review all loans funded since
October 2009 to the current date to determine the number and amount of
overcharges collected from borrowers.

As part of its internal review, Respondent was instructed to provide a detailed self-audit
report of the files reviewed and the dollar amount of the overcharges established through the review
of its originated loans, including, but not be limited to, the loan number, borrower’s name, loan
amount, interest rate, date disbursed, date started collecting interest, interest overcharged and date
refunded.

Further, the Department ordered Respondent to make refunds of excess amounts plus interest
at the rate of 10 percent per annum to all overcharged California borrowers, including but not limited
to the seven loans identified in the 2012 exam report pursuant to Financial Code section 50504.

Additionally, Respondent was instructed to submit a written report to the Department within
30 calendar days describing in detail the actions taken to correct the violations of Financial Code
section 50204. Specifically, paragraph 3 of the 2012 exam report stated:

Failure to submit a sufficient report may result in a special examination by the
Department for which you will be required to pay the cost. Please indicate the
corrective action taken to prevent a recurrence of this violation.

This is a repeat violation; consequently, this matter is being referred to the Special
Administrator for administrative action.

Iy
Iy
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On or about October 23, 2013, Respondent submitted a written response to the 2012 exam
report advising that it disagreed with several of the Department’s findings of per diem interest
overcharges. Respondent informed the Department that it had utilized the HUD?® guidelines for
calculating collection of interest from the date the lender disburses loan proceeds instead of the
method mandated by the CRMLA which permits the lender to charge interest for only one day prior
to the date that the loan proceeds are disbursed from escrow. Respondent informed that after
conducting a review of its files, it disagreed that refunds were due for all the loans that had been
identified in the 2012 exam report.

Additionally, in its written response to the Department dated October 23, 2013, Respondent
informed that since it relied upon the HUD guidelines instead of the CRMLA, it had observed fewer
per diem calculation errors than those found by the Department. Accordingly, Respondent requested
that the Department “rescind the requirement for GEM to review all loans from October 2009 onward
and reconsider any reference to a Special Administrator.”

On April 9, 2014, the Department sent Respondent a letter demanding that the self-audit
report be submitted within 10 days pursuant to the 2012 exam report. This letter further advised:

Your response indicated that the company considers that the day funds are wired
to the escrow/settlement agent to be the day that the company disburses and
relinquishes control of the funds; therefore the funding day is utilized to calculate
the per diem interest charge ....

The Department considers the date funds were disbursed by the settlement agent
to and/or on behalf of the borrower as the disbursement date. Please refer to the
Commissioner’s Release 58-FS which is located on the Department’s website ...
The funding date as stated in your response is not an acceptable date to determine
the date of funds disbursement. The company’s request for the Department to
rescind its request for review all loans originated since October 2009 to present is
denied.

On or about April 18, 2014, Respondent sent a letter to the Department restating its plea for a
waiver of the requirement to conduct a self-audit of all loans funded from the period of October 2009

to present.

® The Department of Housing and Urban Development.
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On April 28, 2014, the Department again advised Respondent that its request remained denied
and that the self-audit report remains overdue.

To date, Respondent has failed to submit to the Department the self-audit report that was due
within 30 calendar days of the 2012 exam report or sufficient evidence that it has made the borrower
refunds required under the CRMLA.

By reason of the foregoing, the Commissioner finds that Respondent Golden Empire
Mortgage, Inc. has charged California borrowers interest on loans for a period in excess of one day
prior to the date that the loan proceeds were disbursed from escrow in at least seven loans funded
during the period of October 2011 to the present in violation of Financial Code section 50204(0), and
failed to disclose the amount of such additional interest as required by Civil Code section 2948.5.
Moreover, the refunds that Respondent did issue to some borrowers for overcharges either lacked the
required consumer notices and/or were made subsequent to receiving notice of the Department’s
regulatory examinations or well after the date that the loans had closed, which ranged between five
and 210 days.

Financial Code section 50504, subdivision (b), provides:

(b) If interest on the principal amount of a loan in excess of the amount authorized
by this division is willfully charged, contracted for, or received, in addition to any
other penalties or remedies, the commissioner may order the licensee to refund
the excess interest amount to all borrowers charged the excess amount, with
interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum, calculated from the date the improper
charge was imposed.

Financial Code section 50321 provides:

If, after investigation, the commissioner has reasonable grounds to believe that
any licensee has violated its articles of incorporation or any law or rule binding
upon it, the commissioner shall, by written order addressed to the licensee, direct
the discontinuance of the violation. The order shall be effective immediately, but
shall not become final except in accordance with the provisions of Section 50323.

Financial Code section 50323 provides:

(a) No order issued pursuant to Section 50321 or 50322 may become final except
after notice to the affected licensee of the commissioner's intention to make the
order final and of the reasons for the finding. The commissioner shall also notify
the licensee that upon receiving a request the matter will be set for hearing to
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commence within 15 business days after receipt. The licensee may consent to
have the hearing commence at a later date. If no hearing is requested within 30
days after the mailing or service of the required notice, and none is ordered by the
commissioner, the order may become final without hearing and the licensee shall
immediately discontinue the practices named in the order. If a hearing is
requested or ordered, it shall be held in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act (Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of
Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code), and the commissioner
shall have all of the powers granted under that act. If, upon the hearing, it appears
to the commissioner that the licensee is conducting business in an unsafe and
injurious manner or is violating its articles of incorporation or any law of this
state, or any rule binding upon it, the commissioner shall make the order of
discontinuance final and the licensee shall immediately discontinue the practices
named in the order.

(b) The licensee has 10 days after an order is made final to commence an action to
restrain enforcement of the order. If the enforcement of the order is not enjoined
within 10 days by the court in which the action is brought, the licensee shall
comply with the order.

WHEREFORE, good cause showing, the Commissioner is issuing an Order to Discontinue
Violations Pursuant to Financial Code Section 50321 and Refund Excessive Per Diem Interest
Charges Pursuant to Financial Code Section 50504 and hereby notifies Respondent Golden Empire
Mortgage, Inc. of her intention to make the Order final.

Dated: May 29, 2014
Sacramento, CA JAN LYNN OWEN
Commissioner of Business Oversight

By

MIRANDA LEKANDER
Senior Corporations Counsel
Enforcement Division
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