
Financial Difficulties 
Some seniors may have trouble making ends meet.  The California Department of 
Corporations has found that some seniors utilize cash advance companies for small, 
short-term loans, and a significant number of those seniors take out multiple loans.  
If you or someone you know is having trouble staying out of debt, contact your local 
Area Agency on Aging (see page 18) for low-income assistance programs. 
 
Cash Advances   
Cash advances, payday loans, or overdraft protection are a way to borrow money 
from yourself. You write a check to a lender or borrow against your own future 
deposit, in exchange for a short-term cash loan.   

Under California law, the maximum loan amount you can borrow as a cash 
advance/payday loan is $300.  The maximum fee a lender can charge you is 15% of 
the face amount of the check (to a maximum of $45). 

For example, you write a $300 check, pay a $45 fee, and receive $255 in cash.  The 
lender does not cash the check until your next deposit, up to 31 days.   

Overdraft protection has similar fees. 

These fees are often equivalent to an annual percentage rate (APR) of 400% or 
more.  APR is the total interest rate that a borrower pays annually on a loan, 
including all fees and charges.  APR is used to reveal the total cost of borrowing 
money.   
 
If You Take Out a Cash Advance:  
Borrow only as much as you can afford to pay back in full when you get your next 
check.   On the loan due date, some borrowers find they cannot afford to pay the 
loan in full.  Often, a borrower will take out a second loan from another lender in 
order to pay off the original loan.  This can begin a dangerous cycle of debt that may 
lead to financial disaster. 
 
If You Have Credit Problems: 

If you have missed bill payments or have other credit troubles, you may benefit from 
the services of a financial counselor.   

Visit the National Foundation for Credit Counseling (NFCC) website, 
www.nfcc.org  
or call Toll-Free 1-800-388-2227 for assistance with credit problems and creditors. 



 

If You Are Facing Bankruptcy: 
Recent Federal law requires mandatory credit counseling before you can declare 
bankruptcy.  Go to http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/menus/consumer/credit/debt.shtm to 
download the publication  “Before You File for Personal Bankruptcy: Information 
about Credit Counseling and Debtor Education.” 

The U.S. Department of Justice Trustee Program approves organizations to 
provide mandatory counseling before you can declare bankruptcy and mandatory 
debtor education after you declare bankruptcy.  Go to       
www.usdoj.gov/ust/eo/bapcpa/ccde/index.htm 
 


